Warriors beat Blues for third straight One-Day title

WESTERN Australia has claimed its third consecutive One-Day Cup title after beating New South Wales by five wickets in the 2023/24 decider yesterday. The Warriors repeated the feat of their 2021-22 triumph in just the second-ever List A match played at Sydney’s Cricket Central.

A clinical bowling performance set the platform for WA’s unprecedented 17th title, justifying skipper Sam Whiteman‘s decision to send the Blues in to bat. After looking steady at 3-135, the hosts lost 7-34 in the space of 10 overs to be bowled out for 169 at the end of the 42nd over.

New South Wales captain Moises Henrqiues (32 off 59) combined with youngster Ollie Davies (51 off 53) for a 74-run fourth wicket partnership, before Joel Paris (4-21) spelled the beginning of the end by dismissing the former for his first breakthrough.

Alongside Paris, Andrew Tye (2-35) and Ashton Agar (2-35) also claimed multiple wickets, while rising star Cooper Connolly bowled superbly for 1-41 off 10 overs as the only Warrior to be bowled out. Meanwhile, Jason Behrendorff (0-30) proved economical as ever.

Western Australia’s chase suffered an early wobble – or three – as the defending champions fell to 3-30. Player of the Final Hilton Cartwright steadied the ship though, with his unbeaten 73 off 80 deliveries guiding the Warriors home with 100 balls to spare.

Opener Josh Philippe (42 off 52) and the underrated Nick Hobson (26* off 31) also played key hands as Western Australia got the job done at five wickets down. Five of New South Wales’ six bowlers featured in the wickets column, led by Jackson Bird (1-27 off nine).

Western Australia, the kings of domestic cricket, will now shift focus to defending their First Class crown. The Warriors currently sit third on the Sheffield Shield table with two regular season rounds remaining, while New South Wales (fourth) remains within striking distance of the top two.


RESULT: WA def. NSW by 5 wickets with 16.4 overs remaining.
POTF: Hilton Cartwright (Western Australia)

Western Australia won the toss & elected to bowl.

NEW SOUTH WALES 10-169 (42.0)
Oliver Davies 51 (53), Moises Henriques 32 (59), Daniel Hughes 25 (42)
Joel Paris 4-21 (9), Ashton Agar 2-35 (8), Andrew Tye 2-39 (8)

Hilton Cartwright 73* (80), Josh Philippe 42 (52), Nick Hobson 26* (31)
Jack Edwards 1-22 (6), Will Salzmann 1-22 (3), Jackson Bird 1-27 (9)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments