PREVIEW | 2024 ANZ Premiership

AFTER an offseason that perhaps felt like an eternity, the ANZ Premiership returns this weekend.

The six clubs from last year are back to fight it out to be Queens of New Zealand, and will once again be chasing the Northern Mystics after they won their second title in three years in 2023.

There are plenty of new and returning faces to keep an eye on this season.

There are a few Aussies that have come across to the ANZ Premiership from the SSN in hope of better court time opportunities and to see their careers really take off. Defender Kelea Iongi will no doubt be chomping at the bit to take the court with Silver Ferns star Kelly Jury at the Pulse, while over at the Stars Rahni Samason will be hoping to make enough of an impact to help her team take that crucial next step and become champions.

They are not the only internationals joining the competition, with South African shooter Jeante Strydom also coming to New Zealand to join the Steel.

There are also a number of New Zealanders who have returned home or otherwise returned to the league. These include the likes of Grace Namana and Ali Wilshier, who return after stints in the UK’s Netball Super League, and Shannon Saunders, who returns after a year out on maternity leave.

One thing that will be interesting to see this season is how the teams adapt back to only playing one match per weekend. Because there is no time constraint on the running of the season like there was in 2023, the organisers can afford to revert back to this fixture format, but even making this move will have an effect on conditioning and court time.

2024 ANZ Premiership Squads


Maddy Gordon, Fa’amu Ioane, Kelea Iongi, Kelly Jury, Parris Mason, Tiana Metuarau, Parris Petera, Whitney Souness, Amelia Walmsley and Khiarna Williams


Amorangi Malesala, Rahni Samason, Maia Wilson, Holly Fowler, Samon Nathan, Mila Reuelu-Buchanan, Emma Thompson*, Kate Burley, Kelera Nawai-Caucau and Lili Tokaduadua

* Temporarily replaced by Gina Crampton


Ivari Christie, Abby Erwood, Taneisha Fifita, Jennifer O’Connell, Georgia Heffernan, Kate Heffernan, Grace Namana, Renee Savai’inaea, Shannon Saunders and Jeante Strydom


Reeghan de Bono, Georgie Edgecombe, Ameliaranne Ekenasio, Oceane Maihi, Erena Mikaere, Claire O’Brien, Ivana Rowland, Georgia Takarangi, Saviour Tui, Ali Wilshier


Phoenix Karaka, Carys Stythe, Catherine Hall, Michaela Sokolich-Beatson, Tayla Earle, Peta Toeava, Katie Te Ao, Filda Vui, Hannah Glen, Grace Nweke


Jess Allan, Karin Burger, Aliyah Dunn, Kate Lloyd, Paris Lokotui, Erikana Pedersen, Kimiora Poi, Te Paea Selby-Rickit, Greer Sinclair, Jane Watson

2024 ANZ Premiership Round 1 Fixture

Magic vs. Mystics – Saturday at 4pm – Globox Arena, Hamilton

Stars vs. Pulse – Sunday at 4pm – Pulman Arena, Auckland

Tactix vs. Steel – Monday at 7:30pm – Wolfbrook Arena, Christchurch

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments