Leaderboard: 2022 Rookie Me Central Medal

THERE is just one month left of NAB League action for 2022, and that means the inaugural Rookie Me Central Medal winner is soon to be announced for the Boys competition. Murray Bushrangers midfielder, and GWS Giants draftee Zarlie Goldsworthy was crowned this year’s Girls champion, and it seems the region is in line to produce back-to-back victors.

>> SCROLL to see the current top 10

With 12 rounds in the book, Bushies on-baller and Brisbane Lions father-son candidate Noah Bradshaw leads an all-star cast in the count. Notching a whopping 31 votes thus far, the over-ager has polled in six of his nine outings. He produced three best afield performances, and three games which earned him four votes.

From there, the names are unsurprisingly familiar. Arguably the top Country and Metro prospects respectively fill out the podium, with Geelong Falcons captain Jhye Clark (23 votes) leading Sandringham Dragons skipper Will Ashcroft (22). In a remarkable showing of consistency, they have each been one of the two best afield in every game they’ve polled in – five apiece.

Only three more players have managed to tip the 20-vote mark at this stage. Another two team leaders, Lachlan Cowan (Tasmania) and Bailey Humphrey (Gippsland) racked up 21 votes each, while GWV Rebels forward Aaron Cadman has 20 to his name as the lone key position player in the top half-dozen vote-getters.

Humphrey’s effort is particularly impressive given he has been sidelined by injury, and the same can be said for Elijah Tsatas, who currently sits on 19 votes. The Oakleigh Chargers wingman made a hot start to the season, with three best on ground outings from his four total games. Elsewhere, top 2023 prospect Harley Reid is the lone bottom-ager in the top 10.

With four rounds left to play and a Wildcard Round after that, the winner is not yet locked in despite Bradshaw’s runaway lead. Both Clark and Ashcroft will have three opportunities to poll enough votes to catch their Murray counterpart, as will Cowan, while Cadman has four games in the bank.

Check out the current top 10, and each club’s leaders below.


1. Noah Bradshaw (Murray Bushrangers) – 31
2. Jhye Clark (Geelong Falcons) – 23
3. Will Ashcroft (Sandringham Dragons) – 22
=4. Lachlan Cowan (Tasmania Devils) – 21
=4. Bailey Humphrey (Gippsland Power) – 21
6. Aaron Cadman (GWV Rebels) – 20
7. Elijah Tsatas (Oakleigh Chargers) – 19
8. Harley Reid (Bendigo Pioneers) – 18
=9. Taj Campbell-Farrell (Dandenong Stingrays) – 17
=9. Olivier Northam (Geelong Falcons) – 17


Bendigo Pioneers – Harley Reid (18)
Calder Cannons – Paul Pascu/Jack Newitt (9)
Dandenong Stingrays – Taj Campbell-Farrell (17)
Eastern Ranges – Kai Windsor (11)
Geelong Falcons – Jhye Clark (23)
Gippsland Power – Bailey Humphrey (21)
GWV Rebels – Aaron Cadman (20)
Murray Bushrangers – Noah Bradshaw (31)
Northern Knights – Nate Caddy (11)
Oakleigh Chargers – Elijah Tsatas (19)
Sandringham Dragons – Will Ashcroft (22)
Tasmania Devils – Lachlan Cowan (21)
Western Jets – Massimo D’Ambrosio (15)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments