2023 SANFLW Team of the Week: Round 10

REIGNING premiers North Adelaide kept its finals hopes alive with an upset over ladder leaders South Adelaide in the SANFL Women’s, and recorded an equal league-high four players in our Team of the Week for Round 10. Along with the Roosters, fifth placed Glenelg had a vital win and picked up four players, as did West Adelaide despite a one-point defeat. The remaining five sides had either two or three representatives in an even spread across the board.

North Adelaide co-captain Jess Edwards led from the front in her side’s win over the Panthers, collecting 22 disposals, five marks, five clearances, four inside 50s and laying 13 tackles to be named as this week’s captain. Her deputy in the hypothetical team of the week was Sturt skipper Kate Harris who recorded 27 disposals, seven marks, eight clearances, five inside 50s and laid 15 tackles.

Edwards was one of four Roosters in the side, with co-captain and full-back Kristi Harvey making it again, while ruck Isabelle Starmer and forward Brittany Perry also made it in. For the Panthers, defender Jaslynne Smith was named on the interchange, while key forward Jorja Hooper earned a place inside 50.

Sturt skipper Harris helped shoulder the load with double bottom-ager Monique Bessen in the midfield, with the latter having her best game of the season. Forward Alysha Healy also earned a place in the side after an impressive performance up forward. The team they beat by a point in West Adelaide had regular Team of the Week nominees Lauren Young and Zoe Venning, as well as intercept defenders Milli Gentle and Emma Kilpatrick.

Glenelg picked up an all-important win over Central District, helped out by rebounding defenders Tamsyn Morriss and Sarah Goodwin with the latter providing plenty of run and carry for the side. The Bays also had forward Tessa Kohn booting two important goals, and skipper Ellie Kellock leading from the front. The Bulldogs were represented by winger Laitiah Huynh to play that specialist role, and defender Charlotte Riggs on the bench, who also spent time in the ruck and up forward.

Norwood had a trio of representatives in the Round 10 team with Tahlita Buethke named on the other wing to Huynh, while midfielder Lana Schwerdt and forward Coby Morgan also slotted into the team. The team the Redlegs knocked off in Woodville-West Torrens had the two representatives in skipper Annie Falkenberg and reliable utility Beatrice Devlyn.

The three chosen emergencies for Round 10 were South Adelaide’s Caitlin Couch and top-age duo Elaine Grigg (Central District) and Piper Window (Glenelg).


B: Tamsyn Morriss (Glenelg) – Kristi Harvey (North Adelaide) – Emma Kilpatrick (West Adelaide)
HB: Sarah Goodwin (Glenelg) – Milli Gentle (West Adelaide) – Beatrice Devlyn (WWT Eagles)
C: Laitiah Huynh (Central District) – Kate Harris (Sturt) (vc) – Tahlita Buethke (Norwood)
HF: Monique Bessen (Sturt) – Lauren Young (West Adelaide) – Britt Perry (North Adelaide)
F: Tessa Kohn (Glenelg) – Jorja Hooper (South Adelaide) – Coby Morgan (Norwood)
R: Isabelle Starmer (North Adelaide) – Zoe Venning (West Adelaide) – Jess Edwards (North Adelaide) (c)
INT: Annie Falkenberg (WWT Eagles) – Alysha Healy (Sturt) – Ellie Kellock (Glenelg) – Charlotte Riggs (Central District) – Lana Schwerdt (Norwood) – Jaslynne Smith (South Adelaide)

EMG: Caitlin Couch (South Adelaide) – Elaine Grigg (Central District) – Piper Window (Glenelg)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments