2024 SANFLW Team of the Week: Round 1

GLENELG was the biggest winner in Round 1 and the Bays were rewarded alongside reigning premiers Central District with four players apiece in the SANFL Women’s Round 1 Team of the Week. All other teams bar North Adelaide had three, with the Roosters having a clear standout slot into defence.

This week’s captain is none other than recent AFLW draftee Lauren Young, who caused all sorts of headaches for the opposition defence. She slotted into centre half-forward after producing numbers of 21 disposals, five marks – two contested – two tackles, three clearances, five inside 50s and 1.2.

Young made the side along with midfield dynamo Zoe Venning who amassed 25 disposals and an equal league-high eight clearances for the Bloods. Fellow onballer Keeley Kustermann (20 disposals, six tackles, four clearances and five inside 50s) also made the cut.

The vice-captain this week is a player who has AFLW experience at two clubs in South Adelaide’s Nikki Nield. The tackling machine produced 17 in the opening round against West Adelaide to go with 21 touches, five marks and five rebound 50s. She was named on-ball.

Rock solid defender Jaslynne Smith fits into the back pocket after being a composed figure back there, while up the other end, Panthers forward Emily Brockhurst returned for her first game since 2022, kicking her first goal and then adding two more to her tally on the night.

Speaking of goals, Olivia Evans bobbed up to kick three for the Eagles during their loss to Sturt, also having nine disposals and two marks. In the same game, Double Blue Zara Walsh caught the eye with the way she got involved up the field as well as inside 50, finishing with 16 disposals, five marks, and 1.2.

Up the other end of the field, top-ager Klaudia O’Neill secured the full back position after a move to defence this season. She had 13 disposals, six marks and five rebound 50s. She features alongside North Adelaide’s sole representative and fellow State Academy member Laela Ebert who managed 19 disposals, four marks and four rebound 50s in the loss to Glenelg.

Also in for Sturt was ruck Jasmin Fejo and debutant Summer Ross who really stepped up in big moments, and they earned spots on the bench alongside some big name players. Norwood duo Sarah Branford and Sachi Syme were both important in the Redlegs’ push against Central District, whose captain Shelby Smith finished strongly to join them on the interchange for Round 1.

The other Norwood player in the side was ex-Port Adelaide midfielder/forward Jade Halfpenny who had 20 disposals, six marks and six clearances in her return to SANFLW level. She found herself at half-forward in this week’s team, while Central District forward and Halfpenny’s former teammate Julia Teakle who booted two goals from 11 disposals, five marks and four inside 50s.

Central District had the equal most players in this week’s team, with ruck Olivia Levicki (14 disposals, two marks, three tackles, 48 hitouts and two clearances) and defender Madison Lane (17 disposals, four marks, seven tackles, four clearances, two inside 50s and five rebound 50s) both starting on the field.

The Bays’ win catapulted them to the top of the table, and they registered four players in this week’s team, including returning star and former league best and fairest winner, Jessica Bates. She was named in the centre next to younger teammate Violet Patterson as the specialist wing, while Poppy Scholz is at centre half-back after a 20-disposal, eight-mark performance. Sarah Goodwin flanks her at half-back.

The last remaining player player in the team is Eagles’ Taylah Levy with the ex-Panther impressing on debut in her new colours. She got squeezed out to a wing in the team due to the locks on-ball, but was the star for her side. The three emergencies were incredibly difficult to pick, but in the end they went the way of inside midfielders Brooke Boileau and Alisha Gepp, while Roosters speedster Aprille Crooks also earned a spot there.


B: Jaslynne Smith (South Adelaide) – Klaudia O’Neill (WWT Eagles) – Madison Lane (Central District)
HB: Laela Ebert (North Adelaide) – Poppy Scholz (Glenelg) – Sarah Goodwin (Glenelg)
C: Violet Patterson (Glenelg) – Jess Bates (Glenelg) – Taylah Levy (WWT Eagles)
HF: Jade Halfpenny (Norwood) – Lauren Young (West Adelaide) (c) – Zara Walsh (Sturt)
F: Olivia Evans (WWT Eagles) – Julia Teakle (Central District) – Emily Brockhurst (South Adelaide)
R: Olivia Levicki (Central District) – Zoe Venning (West Adelaide) – Nikki Nield (South Adelaide) (vc)
INT: Sarah Branford (Norwood) – Jasmin Fejo (Sturt) – Keeley Kustermann (West Adelaide) – Shelby Smith (Central District) – Sachi Syme (Norwood) – Summer Ross (Sturt)

EMG: Aprille Crooks (North Adelaide) – Brooke Boileau (South Adelaide) – Alisha Gepp (Sturt)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments