SANFL state Under 20 squad announced

THE SANFL has released this year’s state Under 20 squad, set to take on South Australia’s Under 18 side in the annual State Youth Match on Saturday May 18. Among the 29 players selected are several SANFL League regulars, overlooked AFL Draft prospects, and former junior state representatives.

>> SCROLL to see the full squad

Players are scheduled to begin training on Monday May 13 at Thebarton Oval, but will also convene for recovery sessions on May 5 and 12. The final team of 23 and two emergencies will be confirmed next week for the clash which bounces down at 11am, and will be streamed live via Kommunity TV.

Every SANFL club bar Adelaide is represented in the initial squad, with Port Adelaide laying claim to Norwood product Logan Evans via the league’s AFL Rookie Program. Central District, West Adelaide, and Woodville-West Torrens have contributed the most players with five apiece.

The clash will also serve as a trial for the state Under 18s, whose 38-player squad was announced last month. The Croweaters’ National Championships campaign is set to kick off on Sunday May 26 with a clash against current title holder, the Allies – also at Thebarton Oval.

>> SQUAD: 2024 South Australia Under 18s

There will be no SANFL Under 18s football on the same weekend as the State Youth Match, with Round 9 instead taking place from Tuesday May 21 to Wednesday May 22. Last year, 2024 Under 20 squad members Adam D’Aloia and Will Patton (Under 18) were named best afield for either side.

Archie Lovelock in state colours | Image Credit: Rookie Me Central


Central District (5):
Adam Deakin
Jayden Matz
Noah McDonald
Louie McLennan
Beau Thomas

Glenelg (3):
Harry Francis
Ben Ridgway
Archie Lovelock

North Adelaide (3):
Jed Dignan
Hughen Wissman
Kelsey Rypstra

Norwood (1):
Alex Van Wyk

Port Adelaide (1):
Logan Evans

South Adelaide (2):
Tom Wheaton
Nic Schroder

Sturt (4):
Nick Sadler
Luca Slade
Alex Holt
Henry Maerschel

West Adelaide (5):
Oscar Kregar
Darcy Minchella
Kobe Ryan
Will Patton
Oscar Talbot

Woodville-West Torrens (5):
Patrick Weckert
Adam D’Aloia
Blake Hansen
Brody Mair
Callum Fairall

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments