South Australia locks in 2024 AFLW U18s squad

REIGNING back-to-back champion South Australia has locked in its 2024 AFL Women’s Under 18 Championships squad. Trimming down to 30 players, the Croweaters have only included top and bottom-agers this year, with no Under 16s players as in previous seasons.

The 30-player squad is highlighted by AFL Women’s Academy members India Rasheed, Poppy Scholz and Central District’s trio of Charlotte Riggs, Jasmine Evans and Georgia McKee.

West Adelaide’s Lucy Boyd and Ruby Ballard North Adelaide’s Laela Ebert, Glenelg’s Violet Patterson, Norwood’s Coby Morgan, South Adelaide’s Esther Schirmer and Eagles’ Grace Martin are other top-agers with experience from last year’s Under 18s program. Bottom-agers Sophie Eaton and Monique Bessen were included in last year’s squad as under 16 additions, with the former playing two games, while the latter was an emergency.

Amon the top-age inclusions this year are Emma Daley, an ex-Bendigo Pioneers player who moved to South Australia and has been playing in defence for Norwood, as well as West Adelaide duo Emma Kilpatrick and Asha Dufour who were in the extended squad in 2023, but missed the final cut.

There are several family ties in the group, with Patterson the most known for Collingwood fans. The daughter of Stephen is eligible as a father-daughter selection this year. Scholz is the younger sister of Port Adelaide’s Matilda, Ballard is the younger sister of Adelaide’s Ruby, and Ebert’s father Daniel played 100 games with North Adelaide.

Central District’s Mikaylah Antony was a late inclusion to the squad following some great form this season and injuries to a number of existing players, while speaking of injuries, McKee and Shae Archbold return after missing last year due to anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) injuries.

From a teams perspective, the Bulldogs and Bloods have the most representatives with five, followed by Glenelg, Sturt and Woodville-West Torrens with four. Norwood and South Adelaide have three, while the Roosters have two.

Among those missing the national championships due to injury are reigning All-Australian Jemma Charity (knee), Jayde Visser (foot) and Steph Tredwell (osteitis pubis).

2024 South Australian Under 18 Girls Squad

Charlotte RiggsCentral District
Sophie EatonCentral District
Georgia McKeeCentral District
Jasmine EvansCentral District
Mikaylah AntonyCentral District
Eloise MackerethGlenelg
Poppy ScholzGlenelg
Violet PattersonGlenelg
Matilda WilmoreGlenelg
Laela EbertNorth Adelaide
Sarcha TaylorNorth Adelaide
Coby MorganNorwood
Emma DaleyNorwood
Charli HazelhurstNorwood
Lily BaxterSouth Adelaide
Shae ArchboldSouth Adelaide
Esther SchirmerSouth Adelaide
Winnie ThornquestSturt
Sophie ThredgoldSturt
Monique BessenSturt
India RasheedSturt
Lucy BoydWest Adelaide
Emma KilpatrickWest Adelaide
Ruby BallardWest Adelaide
Chloe TonkinWest Adelaide
Asha DufourWest Adelaide
Imogen TrengoveWoodville-West Torrens
Bianca PortaroWoodville-West Torrens
Grace MartinWoodville-West Torrens
Klaudia O’NeillWoodville-West Torrens

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments