2024 SANFLW Team of the Week: Round 14

MINOR premier South Adelaide finished off the 2024 SANFL Women’s season with a league-high five players in our Team of the Week. The Round 14 side featured five Panthers, four Redlegs and Double Blues, as well as three Bays, while the four losing teams all had two players.

Sturt young gun India Rasheed starred for the Double Blues in her final SANFLW game for the year, racking up 29 disposals, eight marks – one contested – five tackles, five clearances, seven inside 50s and two goals to earn our captaincy for the week.

Vice-captain for Round 14 is Norwood goalkicking hero Kiana Lee who kicked a couple of crucial third quarter goals from 17 disposals, nine marks – six contested – and three inside 50s. She was in the side with wing Tahlita Buethke, midfielder/forward Jade Halfpenny and Tasmanian onballer Candice Belbin as the other Redlegs.

As for the other Double Blues, Georgia Swan (half-forward) and Georgia King (forward pocket) join Rasheed inside 50, while midfielder Alisha Gepp is on the interchange. Onballer Isobel Kuiper is also one of three emergencies for Round 14.

South Adelaide topped those sides with five representatives, headlined once again by ruck Soriah Moon and midfielder Nikki Nield. Defender Jaslynne Smith was outstanding in defence, while Emily Brockhurst (four goals) and bottom-ager Lily Baxter were also among the inclusions. Under 16s tall Taya Maxwell was named as an emergency.

Glenelg had a vital win to make top two and had three representatives with Jo Miller remaining in the midfield, Marie Martino named in defence, and top-age young gun Violet Patterson on the bench. The Bays opponents on the day – Woodville-West Torrens – were represented by two players with Eagles skipper Annie Falkenberg and young midfielder Marlie Fiegert making it in, and ruck Leah Cutting the other emergency.

Central District duo Charlotte Riggs and Caitlen Teague both made the Round 14 side, with West Adelaide’s Madi Russell and Iilish Ross and North Adelaide’s Laela Ebert and Amber Ward completing the 24-strong squad.


B: Annie Falkenberg (WWT Eagles) – Madi Russell (West Adelaide) – Jaslynne Smith (South Adelaide)
HB: Marie Martino (Glenelg) – Charlotte Riggs (Central District) – Layla Ebert (North Adelaide)
C: Iilish Ross (West Adelaide) – Nikki Nield (South Adelaide) – Tahlita Buethke (Norwood)
HF: India Rasheed (Sturt) (c) – Jade Halfpenny (Norwood) – Georgia Swan (Sturt)
F: Georgia King (Sturt) – Kiana Lee (Norwood) (vc) – Emily Brockhurst (South Adelaide)
R: Soriah Moon (South Adelaide) – Jo Miller (Glenelg) – Marlie Fiegert (WWT Eagles)
INT: Lily Baxter (South Adelaide) – Candice Belbin (Norwood) – Alisha Gepp (Sturt) – Violet Patterson (Glenelg) – Caitlen Teague (Central District) – Amber Ward (North Adelaide)

EMG: Leah Cutting (WWT Eagles) – Isobel Kuiper (Sturt) – Taya Maxwell (South Adelaide)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments