Recap: 2023 Australian Cricket Awards

FOR the first time in three years, Australia’s best male and female cricketers convened for their annual awards ceremony last night. Held at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, honours were handed out across all International formats, to go with domestic recognition, and the coveted Allan Border Medal and Belinda Clark Award.

>> SCROLL for the full list of winners

Steve Smith joined an esteemed list as just the third player to take out a fourth Allan Border Medal, behind fellow former Australian captains Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke. A clear winner on the night, Smith finished 27 votes ahead of Travis Head for men’s cricket’s top gong, capping off a typically prolific year which yielded 1,524 International runs across all formats.

Another multiple-time winner was crowned in the Belinda Clark Award, with Beth Mooney taking out her second medal. The batter was also named Women’s ODI Player of the Year, beating out skipper Meg Lanning for both awards. Mooney is fresh off a career-best ODI knock of 133 against Pakistan, and peeled off an incredible 1,109 runs during the voting period – the most of any Australian woman.

Usman Khawaja‘s stunning International resurgence saw him take out the inaugural Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year award. Coming back into the Test during last summer’s Ashes series, the left-handed opener averaged nearly 80 and ticked just over 1,000 runs in the voting period, beating out Marnus Labuschagne and Smith for the award.

In shorter formats, David Warner (ODI) and Marcus Stoinis (T20) took out respective white ball awards on the men’s side, while Mooney and Tahlia McGrath (T20) were the women recognised. A look to the future saw West Australian firebrand Lance Morris take out the Bradman Young Cricketer Award, and Courtney Sippel earn Betty Wilson Young Cricketer honours.

Domestic stars also had their moment in the spotlight. Queensland seamer Michael Neser and rising Victorian allrounder Annabel Sutherland were named Domestic Players of the Year, while Matt Short and Ashleigh Gardner were named BBL and WBBL Players of the Tournament. Putting the cherry on top of a magnificent year, Khawaja was recognised with the Community Impact Award, too.


Allan Border Medal: 
Winner – Steve Smith (171 votes)
Travis Head (144)
David Warner (141)

Belinda Clark Award: 
Winner – Beth Mooney (129 votes)
Meg Lanning (110)
Tahlia McGrath (95)

Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year: 
Winner – Usman Khawaja (22 votes)
Marnus Labuschagne (20)
Steve Smith (16)

Men’s ODI Player of the Year: 
Winner – David Warner (25 votes)
Steve Smith (25)
Travis Head (24)

Women’s ODI Player of the Year: 
Winner – Beth Mooney (25 votes)
Meg Lanning (24)
Alyssa Healy (21)

Men’s T20 Player of the Year: 
Winner – Marcus Stoinis (25 votes)
Josh Hazlewood (24)
Matthew Wade, Glenn Maxwell (21)

Women’s T20 Player of the Year: 
Winner – Tahlia McGrath (31 votes)
Beth Mooney (27)
Ashleigh Gardner (24)

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year: Michael Neser (Queensland/Brisbane Heat)
Women’s Domestic Player of the Year: Annabel Sutherland (Victoria/Melbourne Stars)

BBL|12 Player of the Tournament: Matt Short (Adelaide Strikers)
WBBL|08 Player of the Tournament: Ashleigh Gardner (Sydney Sixers)

Bradman Young Cricketer: Lance Morris
Betty Wilson Young Cricketer: Courtney Sippel

Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees: Ian Redpath, Margaret Jennings

Community Impact Award: Usman Khawaja

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments