PREVIEW | Australia vs. Bangladesh

INTERNATIONAL cricket is back for Australia’s women, who embark on a multi-format white ball tour of Bangladesh, beginning with tomorrow’s ODI.

For Australia, it is time for some fact finding before a return to the subcontinent later this year for the World Cup.

There has also been very little history between Australia and Bangladesh, so there will be plenty to learn for both sides this series.

Much of the Australian squad is the same as the one that defeated South Africa, and also contains many players coming off WPL seasons, meaning they are certainly match ready.

The one addition to the squad is Tayla Vlaeminck, who completes a return from a few years ruined by injury. She has been named in the side alongside fellow Victorian Sophie Molineux, who retains her place in the squad after coming into it for the test against South Africa.

Molineux comes into this series off some stellar form in the WPL Final, where she and Ellyse Perry achieved the ultimate success. Perry was a run scoring machine during the tournament, and as someone who is on lighter bowling duties these days, she will be looking to continue her run scoring form.

Darcie Brown was also supposed to take part in this series, but has suffered a foot injury and been ruled out of the series. Instead of adding a player to the squad, the selectors have decided to play Grace Harris in both the ODI and T20 parts of the series, instead of just the T20s like she was initially selected for.

Meanwhile for Bangladesh, youth continues to be a theme for the team.

Once again led by Nigar Sultana, the trio of Marufa Akter, Disha Biswas and Shorna Akter are all around the late teens-early 20s in age and are starting to become regular members of the national teams, growing with every match.

Bangladesh’s most recent series was also against South Africa – occurring late last year – and there have been a few changes to the squad ahead of this series. Uncapped wicket keeper Farzana Akter has earned a call up, as has 15-year-old Nishita Akter Nishi, who made her ODI debut last year.

The six-match series will take place at Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka, and fans can watch the series either on the Bangladesh Cricket Board YouTube channel or via the BCB Facebook page. 



Alyssa Healy (c), Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath (vc), Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham, Tayla Vlaeminck


Nigar Sultana (c), Nahida Akter (vc), Fargana Hoque, Murshida Khatun, Sobhana Mostary, Shorna Akter, Ritu Moni, Sultana Khatun, Fahima Khatun, Marufa Akter, Disha Biswas, Sumaiya Akter, Nishita Akter Nishi, Farzana Akter, Rabeya Khan



March 21 – Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka – 2:30pm AEDT
March 24 – Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka – 2:30pm AEDT
March 27 – Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka – 2:30pm AEDT


March 31 – Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka – 5:00pm AEDT
April 2 – Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka – 5:00pm AEDT
April 4 – Sher-E-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka – 5:00pm AEDT

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments