Garth, Litchfield leap into Ashes contention as squad is named

TEENAGE sensation Phoebe Litchfield and former Irish international Kim Garth are both in contention for their Ashes debuts, after they were both named in Australia’s squad for this year’s series that was released this morning.

Unlike multi format tours of the past, Australia have opted to only go with the one squad for all formats as opposed to a different squad for each format.

The Australian team is largely the same as the one that won the World Cup last month with Litchfield, who starred for Australia against Pakistan earlier this year, the only addition to the team, replacing Heather Graham.

It has also been revealed that an Australia A squad will tour England alongside the senior squad, and play England A in a series of three one dayers and three T20s.

After being relegated from the senior squad, Graham will play in the A tour, alongside many young stars of Australian cricket.

Some of the faces in Australia’s A squad include Tayla Vlaeminck, who returns to the national set up after a horror run of injuries, as well as the likes of Amanda-Jade Wellington and Maitlin Brown.

The Ashes and Australia A tours both get underway in June.

Australia’s Ashes Squad

Meg Lanning (c), Alyssa Healy (vc), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

Senior Ashes Fixture 2023

Test: June 22-26 at Trent Bridge, Nottingham, 11am local (7pm AEST)

First T20I: July 1 at Edgbaston, Birmingham, 6.35pm (3.35am July 2 AEST)

Second T20I: July 5 at The Oval, London, 6.35pm (3.35am July 6 AEST)

Third T20I: July 8 at Lord’s, London, 6.35pm (3.35am July 9 AEST)

First ODI: July 12 at The County Ground, Bristol, 1pm (10pm AEST)

Second ODI: July 16 at The Rose Bowl, Southampton, 11am (7pm AEST)

Third ODI: July 18 at The County Ground, Taunton, 1pm (10pm AEST)

Australia A Squad

Maitlan Brown, Lauren Cheatle, Maddy Darke, Heather Graham, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Charli Knott, Kate Peterson, Courtney Sippel, Tayla Vlaeminck, Courtney Webb, Amanda-Jade Wellington, Tahlia Wilson

Australia A v England A 2023

First T20: June 21, Loughborough

Second T20: June 23, Loughborough

Third T20: June 25, Loughborough

First ODI: June 28, TBC

Second ODI: June 30, TBC

Third ODI: July 2, TBC

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments