2022 WAFLW Team of the Week: Round 10

AFTER a big win, Peel Thunder has recorded the equal most players with Claremont in our West Australian Football League (WAFL) Women’s Team of the Week. For Round 10, the Thunder have six representatives in the side – including the two co-captains – whilst two of the other four sides – East Fremantle, and Swan Districts have four representatives each. Subiaco and West Perth managed the two players for Round 10.

This week’s side is co-captained by a couple of key Peel Thunder talents, with 19-year-old winger Jaide Britton and 17-year-old inside midfielder Gracie Fenton sharing the role after 25 and 30 touches respectively, and playing their roles to perfection on the weekend.


The pair were among six Thunder players, with Ebony Dowson named at half-back the anomaly compared to the remaining three. The entire front three are Thunder players, with competition leading goalkicker Kate Bartlett slotting five majors, Kira Phillips and Jade Briggs roaming up the field and hitting the scoreboard.

Top of the table East Fremantle recorded the four players for Round 10, starting with ruck Laura Catherine and consistent midfielder Ashleigh Gomes. At half-forward, Larissa Versaci made the side again, as did Beth Beckett who was named on the interchange.

The other Round 10 winner was Claremont, with two starting midfielders in captain Ella Smith and returning talent Jasmin Stewart. The Tigers also had the Ortlepp had sisters in On the bench, the Tigers have a couple of representatives in Katherine Orme and Brooke Hongell making the 24-player side. Subiaco also had four representatives in the Round 10 team, starting in defence with the Ortlepp sisters in Rachel and Claire.

Swan Districts four players in the side include a couple of defenders in Lauren Osborne and Isabella Edgley, whilst up the other end, Aimee Ralph holds down centre half-forward, and Swans captain Jessica Cox also made the side.

Subiaco also had two representatives in the Round 10 team. Abbey Dowrick made a successful return, whilst Jayme Harken made the side once again.

Completing the side is a couple of West Perth young talents in Jessica Roper (back pocket) and Megan Norbury (interchange). In terms of emergencies, Swan Districts’ Eliza Gelmi, East Fremantle’s Mylee Leitch and Subiaco’s Tess Lyons were the closest to squeezing in.


B: Jess Roper (West Perth) – Lauren Osborne (Swan Districts) – Rachel Ortlepp (Claremont)
HB: Ebony Dowson (Peel Thunder) – Isabella Edgley (Swan Districts) – Claire Ortlepp (Claremont)
C: Jaide Britton (Peel Thunder) (c) – Ella Smith (Claremont) – Jasmin Stewart (Claremont)
HF: Abbey Dowrick (Subiaco) – Aimee Ralph (Swan Districts) – Larissa Versaci (East Fremantle)
F: Kate Bartlett (Peel Thunder) – Kira Phillips (Peel Thunder) – Jade Briggs (Peel Thunder)
R: Laura Catherine (East Fremantle) – Gracie Fenton (Peel Thunder) (c) – Ashleigh Gomes (East Fremantle)

INT: Beth Beckett (East Fremantle) – Jess Cox (Swan Districts) – Jayme Harken (Subiaco) – Brooke Hongell (Claremont) – Megan Norbury (West Perth) – Kate Orme (Claremont)

EMG: Eliza Gelmi (Swan Districts) – Mylee Leitch (East Fremantle) – Tess Lyons (Subiaco)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments