2022 NAB League Boys Team of the Week: Round 5

TASMANIA dominates our Round 5 NAB League Team of the Week, with a handful of players selected in this week’s side. Fellow victors Gippsland and Murray contributed four players apiece, along with a quartet of Dandenong Stingrays after their heartbreaking loss to Geelong. Check out who made the full 24-man squad, and three emergency spots below.


A three-way vote between talented six-goal forwards ended in Tasmanian Seth Campbell coming away as our Player of the Week. The zippy top-ager took full toll as his Devils dominated the Northern Territory on Sunday, coming away 115-point victors. Campbell’s six goals came from 32 disposals, 11 marks and nine inside 50s, making him a deserving winner if his pure numbers are anything to go by. With terrific speed, finishing, and a work ethic fitting of his high half-forward role, Campbell did it all in Round 5.


It was far from a good week for defenders as a bunch of goalkickers ran rampant, but our six showed some cool heads in many a crisis. Tasmanian pair Lachlan Cowan and Tom McCallum were sensational in their side’s win, rebounding at will with plenty of speed and vigour. In the same game, Lloyd Johnston was resolute on the last line to become the Northern Territory’s lone representative.

Rebound running power is a continual theme, with Murray’s Tyler Norton again securing a spot for his dashing display on Sunday. Dandenong prospect Finn Emile-Brennan set up his Stingrays nicely from the back as the magnets were shuffled, while Greater Western Victoria (GWV) bottom-ager Luamon Lual earned his spot after a promising outing for the Rebels.


It was a tough midfield to narrow down, and plenty of prime movers were left on the bench to ensure the starting stars could squeeze in. At the heart of the midfield, it is no surprise to see Geelong Falcons skipper Jhye Clark feature once more, and he is joined by Oskar Faulkhead and Bailey Humphrey at the centre bounces. The latter captained Gippsland’s win over Faulkhead’s Bendigo Pioneers, providing plenty of drive from the middle.

Also at the restarts in our hypothetical team is Toby Murray, who continued his strong form for the Bushrangers. The over-age ruck is a dual threat with his ability to roll forward. Out on the wings, it was hard to look past Tasmanian speedster Colby McKercher after his dazzling display on both sides of the centre square, while Dandenong’s Lachlan Robinson proved his versatility as a 194cm winger who hit the scoreboard.


We say it every other week, but this time we really mean it – there are goals galore in this forward line. Aside from GWV centre half-forward Aaron Cadman, every member kicked at least five goals across what was a sensational Sunday for goalkickers.

Our two vice-captains – Brayden George (Murray) and Zane Duursma (Gippsland) – slot into the pockets after their six-goal hauls, having competed with Campbell in the Player of the Week vote. Brandon Leary was another to kick six majors in Tasmania’s win, while Dandenong spearhead Justin Davies managed five. Both he and Cadman displayed vice-like marking abilities as their respective sides suffered losses.


A mix of six talented midfielders and forwards spill onto this week’s interchange bench, headlined by a couple of Gippsland Power smalls. Jacob Konstanty gets a nod this time alongside fellow livewire Vinnie Caia, who kicked four goals in an inspired outing for the Power.

In Geelong’s win over Dandenong, over-ager Euriah Hollard was busy for the victors, while Taj Campbell-Farrell notched a whopping 36 disposals for the losers. Bendigo Pioneers skipper Jason Gillbee was hard to overlook having fulfilled roles at either end of the ground, while Noah Bradshaw continues to improve as Murray’s prime ball winner.

There was a very even ‘stiff to miss’ list, topped by our three emergencies. Bottom-agers Sam Frangalas and Harley Reid again gave glimpses of their talent, while the former’s Dandenong teammate Henry Hustwaite warrants a mention (among many others) for taking on greater responsibility in midfield this weekend.


B: Tyler Norton (MB) – Lloyd Johnston (NT) – Luamon Lual (GWV)
HB: Lachlan Cowan (TD) – Tom McCallum (TD) – Finn Emile-Brennan (DS)
C: Lachlan Robinson (DS) – Jhye Clark (GF) – Colby McKercher (TD)
HF: Seth Campbell (TD, c) – Aaron Cadman (GWV) – Brandon Leary (TD)
F: Brayden George (MB, vc) – Justin Davies (DS) – Zane Duursma (GP, vc)
FOL: Toby Murray (MB) – Oskar Faulkhead (BP) – Bailey Humphrey (GP)

INT: Noah Bradshaw (MB), Vinnie Caia (GP), Taj Campbell-Farrell (DS), Jason Gillbee (BP), Euriah Hollard (GF), Jacob Konstanty (GP)

EMG: Sam Frangalas (DS), Henry Hustwaite (DS), Harley Reid (BP)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments