SQUADS | South Australia U18 vs. U20

THE SANFL has finalised squads for Friday night’s showcase game between South Australia’s Under 18 and Under 20 sides. Set to be played under lights at Thebarton Oval, the fixture acts as a trial for the more junior team ahead of this year’s National Championships.

>> Initial squad: 2023 SA U18s

West Adelaide defender Will Patton will lead the Under 18 lineup as head of a five-man leadership group which features star Glenelg forward Ashton Moir and Sturt’s Alex Holt as vice-captains, along with North Adelaide midfielder Kane McAuliffe and Eagles key forward Patrick Weckert (both deputy vice-captains).

The Under 18s underwent its first trial of sorts last Sunday, with a 34-point win over the combined Giants and Swans academies at the same venue. The side will look a little different this time around, with the state’s four National Academy members slotting into the starting 18.

>> Scouting Notes: SA vs. Giants/Swans Academies

Among the players to watch, Liam Fawcett has been in strong form and should be well supported as a marking target up forward. At the other end of the ground, Central District teammate Will McCabe is stamping himself as a bonafide top prospect.

Elsewhere, South Adelaide ruck Taylor Goad has progressed nicely and is intriguing recruiters, while bottom-agers Tom Luck, Sid Draper, and Tyler Welsh are some exciting names among a nine-man interchange.

The Under 20 team features a couple of players originally selected in the opposition squad. Over-age Norwood ruck Alex Van Wyk is one, while talent hub trainee Chad Reschke is another who will look to cause headaches at full forward.

Not only do the Under 20s have a greater wealth of senior experience after seven SANFL rounds, but there are also plenty of former state Under 18 representatives who will be itching to don the famous tricolour jersey once again. Among them are captain Adam D’Aloia and his deputy, Kobe Ryan.

The game gets underway at 7:00pm local time, set to be live streamed with commentary via KommunityTV. MVP awards will be handed out to the best player for either side on the night.



F: Patrick Weckert, Liam Fawcett, Jack Delean
HF: Jed Dignan, Ashton Moir, Loch Rawlinson
C: Trent Tattoli, Anders McShane, Luca Slade
HB: Callum Fairall, Will McCabe, Logan Evans
B: Alex Holt, Oscar Talbot, Will Patton
FOL: Taylor Goad, Kane McAuliffe, Tom Wheaton

INT: Tom Luck, Kade Herbert, Sid Draper, Sebastian Wauer, Bodie Ryan, Tyler Welsh, Jack Oates, Patrick Toole, Charlie Nicholls


F: Dylan Brown, Chad Reschke, Hugo Kittel
HF: Will Pearce, Shay Linke, Cooper Rogers
C: Will Francou, Adam D’Aloia, Nick Sadler
HB: Lewis Rayson, Zac Becker, Harper Montgomery
B: Charlie Fryer, Shaun Bennier, Harvey Pedler
FOL: Alex van Wyk, Cade Kennedy, Kobe Ryan

INT: Archie Lovelock, Jake Walker, Tyson Walls, Adam Deakin, Blayne O’Loughlin

EMG: Jacob Lochowiak, Owen Mulady

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments