2023 ICC T20 World Cup Preview: Bangladesh

THE 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup is just around the corner, and will see 10 teams from across the world battle it out in South Africa to be crowned World Champions for another three years.

In the lead up to the tournament, we here at Rookie Me Central will be previewing the teams one by one, and taking a deep dive into their chances at the upcoming tournament.

First cab off the rank in this series is Bangladesh.

Unfortunately for the Lady Tigers, the task in front of them at this year’s World Cup looks akin to climbing a rather steep hill.

They have struggled at senior international level for a number of years, so it is hard to see them making it deep into this tournament, especially considering the countries they have in their group.

They may be competitive in their opening match against Sri Lanka, but then they have to contend with world number one Australia, world number three New Zealand, and world number five South Africa. Not an easy task.

However, perhaps they can take inspiration from their Under 19 World Cup counterparts who unexpectedly finished top of their group.

Speaking of that Under 19 side, several of its stars are backing up and doing the double, set to compete at the senior tournament too.

One of those is skipper of the Under 19s side Disha Biswas, who is mainly a bowler but can also add handy runs in the lower order with the bat.

Shorna Akter is an allrounder, but provided some handy innings with the bat at the Under 19 World Cup to help her side beat Sri Lanka and one of the tournament favourites Australia.

Marufa Akter is a bowler who picked up eight wickets at the Under 19 World Cup, and is someone who is just as equally effective with the new ball and later in the innings.

Bangladesh Squad

Nigar Sultana Joty (c), Marufa Akter, Fahima Khatun, Salma Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Shamima Sultana, Rumana Ahmed, Lata Mondol, Shorna Akter, Nahida Akter, Murshida Khatun, Ritu Moni, Disha Biswas, Sobhana Mostary, Fargana Hoque Pinky

Bangladesh Fixture (all dates local)

February 12 – Sri Lanka
February 14 – Australia
February 17 – New Zealand
February 21 – South Africa

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments