WBBL09 Season Preview: Sydney Thunder

THE ninth Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) season us almost upon us, with the competition set to kick off next week.

In the lead up to the opening day, Rookie Me Central will countdown by previewing each of the teams set to be contesting the tournament this season.

In the final preview of the series, it is time to take a look at the Sydney Thunder.

It is safe to say things could not have gone much worse for those in light green last WBBL season.

With only one win to their name last season, they easily finished dead last on the ladder.

But with plenty of list turnover in the offseason, perhaps their fortunes will improve this season.

The offseason departures from the Thunder are the retired Rachael Haynes and Corinne Hall, international trio Tammy Beaumont, Chloe Tryon and Amy Jones, and Sam Bates, Jess Davidson and Belinda Vakarewa.

In their place comes a mix of youth and experience.

There are four new internationals coming into the Thunder side this season. They are big hitting Sri Lankan Chamari Athapaththu, South African speedster Marizanne Kapp and English pair Lauren Bell and Heather Knight.

ACT Meteors youngster Paris Bowdler is also now getting her chance at WBBL level and has signed with the Thunder.

The other three new faces are all NSW youngsters in Saskia Horley, Ebony Hoskin and Claire Moore.

The older faces in that inclusions list are set to lead a talented, but also rather young bunch of returning players.

However Hannah Darlington did really step up last season though and has really grown as a player and a leader. Phoebe Litchfield also grew as a player in the last 12 to 18 months, and comes into a WBBL campaign off the back of a number of campaigns in the Australian team for the first time.

Sydney Thunder WBBL09 squad

Chamari Athapaththu, Lauren Bell, Paris Bowdler, Hannah Darlington, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Saskia Horley, Ebony Hoskin, Marizanne Kapp, Heather Knight, Anika Learoyd, Phoebe Litchfield, Claire Moore, Olivia Porter, Lauren Smith, Tahlia Wilson

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments