Tigers roar into Sheffield Shield final

TASMANIA will play in its first Sheffield Shield final since 2018 after beating fellow contender Victoria on home turf today. The Tigers will next play South Australia to earn hosting rights for this month’s decider having proven 57 runs too good for their counterparts at Blundstone Arena.

>> SCROLL for scorecards, standings, and fixtures

All-round ace Beau Webster was named Player of the Match in an outing where he became just the fifth player in Shield history to amass over 800 runs and 20 wickets in a single season. His unbeaten 167 in Tasmania’s second innings helped set Victoria a mammoth 441 runs for victory.

The Vics went into day four with a slight sniff, requiring 69 more runs but with only two wickets in hand. Tasmania would take little time to quash their hopes though, snapping up the remaining wickets within four overs having only conceded a further 12 runs.

Gabe Bell capped off a terrific game to finish with seven wickets overall, while Iain Carlisle‘s 4-68 made for a sensational six. Victoria was spearheaded by Nic Maddinson (109), while fellow top order batters Marcus Harris (76) and Peter Handscomb (71) also made things interesting.

Unfortunately, first drop Will Pucovski suffered another head knock at the crease, hit by a Riley Meredith bouncer and forced to retire hurt after facing just two deliveries. The blow came after he top-scored with 22 in Victoria’s paltry first innings total of 106.

The result sets up a tantalising final round clash between Victoria and Western Australia for a spot in the final. The Warriors were pushed all the way until after tea on day four, but kept their title defence alive with a 146-run win over Queensland at the WACA Ground.

Josh Inglis proved the difference with his second innings knock of 136*. The stay at number six allowed Western Australia to declare on 7-307, setting the Bulls an imposing 447 runs for victory. They fell well short despite valiant efforts from the likes of Jack Wildermuth (91).

An overall haul of eight wickets went Corey Rocchiccioli‘s way, claiming four in either inning. Jayden Goodwin also starred for WA with a first innings ton (115), while Queensland quick Xavier Bartlett chimed in with 5-64 after skipper Jimmy Peirson elected to bowl first.

The only match of this week’s triple-header which went without a result saw New South Wales draw with South Australia at Cricket Central in Sydney. Crushingly, the Blues finished just 36 runs behind their opponents, who survived to the close of play nine wickets down.

Jack Edwards‘ spell of 4-59 sparked late drama on day four after South Australia looked like comfortably batting out the overs. Thomas Kelly (69) and Nathan McSweeney (67) had combined for a 119-run partnership, but the latter was the first of four wickets to fall in a precarious five-over period.

Fresh off an innings-high 71 in the Redbacks’ first dig, Ben Manenti proved his side’s hero to see out the draw unbeaten on 45. South Australian skipper Jake Lehmann (56) also notched a half-century to help ensure the visitors would escape defeat.

The Blues declared after an early bash on day four at 8-510, 223 runs ahead of SA’s 287. Oliver Davies (116) and Daniel Hughes (114) both notched up terrific tons, while Chris Green‘s late hitting saw him finish the innings on 63. In the end, they were denied a result.

While mathematically still in with a chance of reaching the final, New South Wales’ top two hopes took a significant hit with the result. The Blues will have to beat Queensland next week and gain a slew of bonus points in the process, while hoping the clash between WA and Victoria ends in a draw.


Blundstone Arena, Hobart

RESULT: Tasmania def. Victoria by 57 runs
POTM: Beau Webster (Tasmania)

Victoria won the toss & elected to bowl.

1st Innings: Tasmania 10-240 (65.3)
Jake Doran 47 (67), Caleb Jewell 40 (83), Jarrod Freeman 36 (35)
Will Sutherland 5-73 (15.3), Fergus O’Neill 3-31 (18.0), Todd Murphy 1-15 (4.0)

2nd Innings: Victoria 10-106 (32.2)
Will Pucovski 22 (29), Marcus Harris 20 (60), Will Sutherland 14 (21)
Gabe Bell 4-21 (11.2), Beau Webster 2-9 (5), Iain Carlisle 2-18 (7)

Tasmania led by 132 runs.

3rd Innings: Tasmania 10-307 (74.5)
Beau Webster 167* (180), Riley Meredith 44 (93), Jarrod Freeman 23 (56)
Fergus O’Neill 3-75 (19.0), Will Sutherland 2-21 (9.0), Peter Siddle 2-64 (18)

Tasmania led by 441 runs.

4th Innings: Victoria 10-384 (105.1)
Nic Maddinson 109 (145), Marcus Harris 76 (175), Peter Handscomb 71 (115)
Iain Carlisle 4-68 (21.1), Gabe Bell 3-93 (30.0), Beau Webster 1-54 (11.0)

Tasmania won by 57 runs.

Jack Edwards nearly bowled NSW to victory | Image Credit: Getty Images

Cricket Central, Sydney

RESULT: Match Drawn
POTM: Daniel Hughes (New South Wales)

New South Wales won the toss & elected to bowl.

1st Innings: South Australia 10-287 (99.2)
Ben Manenti 71 (116), Thomas Kelly 54 (94), Nathan McSweeney 53 (178)
Jack Nisbet 3-50 (18.2), Chris Green 3-69 (26.0), Jack Edwards 2-52 (17.0)

2nd Innings: New South Wales 8d-510 (144.0)
Oliver Davies 116 (166), Daniel Hughes 114 (180), Chris Green 63* (71)
Nathan McAndrew 3-63 (30.0), Ben Manenti 2-130 (41.0), Spencer Johnson 1-83 (22.0)

New South Wales led by 223 runs.

3rd Innings: South Australia 9-259 (92.4)
Thomas Kelly 69 (134), Nathan McSweeney 67 (242), Jake Lehmann 56 (82)
Jack Edwards 4-59 (17.0), Jack Nisbet 3-41 (14.0), Chris Tremain 2-30 (15.0)

South Australia led by 36 runs with 1 wicket remaining.

Josh Inglis hit a brilliant ton for WA | Image Credit: Getty Images

WACA Ground, Perth

RESULT: Western Australia won by 146 runs
POTM: Josh Inglis (Western Australia)

Queensland won the toss & elected to bowl.

1st Innings: Western Australia 10-310 (102.0)
Jayden Goodwin 115 (268), Sam Whiteman 79 (149), Josh Inglis 47 (71)
Xavier Bartlett 5-64 (26.0), Mitch Swepson 3-95 (24.0), Mark Steketee 2-50 (23.0)

2nd Innings: Queensland 10-170 (54.5)
Jack Wildermuth 41 (55), Jack Clayton 36 (117), Jimmy Peirson 23 (48)
Corey Rocchiccioli 4-54 (14.0), Joel Paris 2-15 (12.0), Cameron Gannon 2-23 (9.5)

Western Australia led by 140 runs.

3rd Innings: Western Australia 7d-307 (83.0)
Josh Inglis 136* (165), D’Arcy Short 49 (108), Sam Whiteman 33 (78)
Mark Steketee 2-34 (15.0), Jack Wildermuth 2-47 (14.0), Gurinder Sandhu 2-61 (16.0)

Western Australia led by 447 runs.

4th Innings: Queensland 10-301 (96.1)
Jack Wildermuth 91 (133), Ben McDermott 59 (108), Angus Lovell 45 (74)
Corey Rocchiccioli 4-109 (33.0), Cameron Gannon 3-49 (17.0), Joel Paris 1-32 (17.0)

Western Australia won by 146 runs.


1. Tasmania | 5-1-3 | 46.36 points
2. Western Australia | 4-2-3 | 40.49 points

3. Victoria | 4-3-2 | 37.94 points
4. New South Wales | 3-3-3 | 34.15 points
5. South Australia | 2-6-1 | 25.78 points
6. Queensland | 2-5-2 | 24.84 points


All fixtures scheduled for March 11-14

Tasmania vs. South Australia @ Blundstone Arena, Hobart
Victoria vs. Western Australia @ CitiPower Centre, Melbourne
Queensland vs. New South Wales @ Allan Border Field, Brisbane

THE FINAL: 1st vs. 2nd, March 21-24

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments