Boland back with a bang in must-win Shield clash

SCOTT Boland has made a timely Sheffield Shield return for Victoria, claiming 4-41 on day one against Western Australia as his side chases a spot in this season’s final. The seamer was released from Australia’s Test squad in New Zealand, where the tourists secured a 2-0 series sweep.

>> SCROLL for full scorecards

The Warriors, who likely only need a draw to keep their back-to-back title defence alive, were sent in and bowled out for 244. No WA batter scored above 50, with Jayden Goodwin (43) and Aaron Hardie (40) both felled in the 40s.

A collapse of 6-41 brought the visitors’ progress undone at CitiPower Centre, after cruising at 4-203. Fergus O’Neill (3-48) and Todd Murphy (2-54) also got among the wickets for Victoria, who were left to face five overs before stumps.

In-form opener Nic Maddinson was dismissed in that time, leaving Marcus Harris and nightwatchman Mitch Perry to resume play at the crease on day two. The Victorians must win to make the final, which will be played against current ladder leader, Tasmania.

The Tigers are playing off for hosting rights against South Australia, who is well out the running of a postseason berth. Nathan McSweeney played a lone hand in the Redbacks’ opening dig of 271, posting 117 in what is essentially a dead rubber for his side.

No other South Australian batter passed 30, but Nathan McAndrew did plenty of damage late in the day with 3-8 to have Tasmania 3-27 at Blundstone Arena. The Tigers will resume play 244 runs in arrears with Matthew Wade (20) looking most in control.

Up in Queensland, New South Wales’ slim hopes of scraping into the final are fading after losing six hours of play to rain yesterday. Needing a big bonus points win and a draw in the Victoria-Western Australia clash, the Blues only managed 12 overs on day one.

Chris Tremain made inroads with 2-3, leaving Queensland 2-14 after removing Angus Lovell and Jack Clayton with consecutive deliveries. Even if other results go their way, the Blues face an uphill battle to get the job done for an unlikely shot at the title.


CitiPower Centre, Melbourne

Stumps, Day One

Victoria won the toss & elected to bowl.

1st Innings: Western Australia 10-244 (83.1)
Jayden Goodwin 43 (117), Aaron Hardie 40 (108), Sam Whiteman 35 (57)
Scott Boland 4-41 (19), Fergus O’Neill 3-48 (17.1), Todd Murphy 2-54 (17)

2nd Innings: Victoria 1-7 (5)
Marcus Harris 4* (14), Mitchell Perry 0* (7)
Cameron Gannon 1-4 (2), Joel Paris 0-3 (3)

Victoria trails by 237 runs with 9 wickets remaining.

Nathan McSweeney played a lone hand for SA | Image Credit: Getty Images

Blundstone Arena, Hobart

Stumps, Day One

Tasmania won the toss & elected to bowl.

1st Innings: South Australia 10-271 (77.2)
Nathan McSweeney 117 (174), Kyle Brazell 29 (55), Ben Manenti 29 (27)
Iain Carlisle 3-62 (18), Beau Webster 3-63 (18), Kieran Elliott 3-65 (14.2)

2nd Innings: Tasmania 3-27 (12)
Matthew Wade 20* (35), Gabe Bell 0* (5)
Nathan McAndrew 3-8 (6), Jordan Buckingham 0-18 (6)

Tasmania trails by 244 runs with 7 wickets remaining.

Chris Tremain did early damage for NSW | Image Credit: Getty Images

Allan Border Field, Brisbane

Stumps, Day One

New South Wales won the toss & elected to bowl.

1st Innings: Queensland 2-14 (12)
Max Bryant 10* (25), Bryce Street 4* (32)
Chris Tremain 2-3 (6), Tanveer Sangha 0-1 (2)

Play stopped due to rain.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments