2022 WAFLW Team of the Week: Round 14

THREE big winners, plenty of Rookie Me Central West Australian Football League (WAFL) Women’s Team of the Week representatives for Round 14. Claremont recorded an equal season-high of seven players after a massive victory over South Fremantle – who was the the only team not to have a representative – while Peel Thunder (six) and Subiaco (five) were both well represented. West Perth had its best week in terms of representation with three players in our Team of the Week, while Swan Districts also managed three.

Claremont had a massive win over South Fremantle to secure a top two spot in this year’s WAFL Women’s Finals Series, lead by captain Ella Smith, who also captains our hypothetical team. She is joined in the midfield by ruck Matilda Dyke, while Claire Ortlepp has earned a place in defence. Up forward, Brooke Whyte, Claudia Wright and Tayla Thorogood have all earned spots in the side, after Whyte and Thorogood booted four goals, and Wright was a crucial link-up player. Winger Kobi Nichols also made it onto the bench, while Mikayla Western is one of three emergencies. Their opponent South Fremantle just had the one representative in the 27, with Kahra Sprylan named as an emergency.

Peel Thunder had an equally impressive win to effectively secure third spot, defeating Swan Districts and having half a dozen players in our Team of the Week. On the wings, Kaitlyn Srhoj and Jaide Britton return to the side again, with familiar names Ebony Dowson and Cassie Davidson also back. Up forward, Kate Bartlett assumed her weekly spot, while Sabreena Duffy was on the bench. Krystal Carter was named as an emergency for the side.

Subiaco’s five representatives include the leading ball-winner this round in Jayme Harken, while Lions captain Tarnica Golisano made it in again, and was nominated as vice-captain for Round 14. Also in the side was the dangerous Abbey Dowrick, as well as Hanna Dethlefsen who slotted three majors in the victory over West Perth. Amy Mulholland made it onto the bench.

Swan Districts and West Perth both had three representatives, with half of those players in the back six. Falcons’ Kaitlyn Roper slotted into the back pocket, with Swans duo Isabella Edgley and Jaime Henry at half-back. Though Henry has transformed into a midfielder the second half of this season, the strength of the midfield saw her pushed to half-back. The other three combined representatives are on the bench, with West Perth duo Keely Byrne and Megan Norbury, while Swan Districts’ Abbygail Bushby rounds out the 24.


B: Kaitlyn Roper (West Perth) – Cassie Davidson (Peel Thunder) – Claire Ortlepp (Claremont)
HB: Ebony Dowson (Peel Thunder) – Isabella Edgley (Swan Districts) – Jaime Henry (Swan Districts)
C: Jaide Britton (Peel Thunder) – Tarnica Golisano (Subiaco) (vc) – Kaitlyn Srhoj (Peel Thunder)
HF: Abbey Dowrick (Subiaco) – Brooke Whyte (Claremont) – Claudia Wright (Claremont)
F: Tayla Thorogood (Claremont) – Kate Bartlett (Peel Thunder) – Hanna Dethlefsen (Subiaco)
R: Matilda Dyke (Claremont) – Ella Smith (Claremont) (c) – Jayme Harken (Subiaco)
INT: Abbygail Bushby (Swan Districts) – Keely Byrne (West Perth) – Sabreena Duffy (Peel Thunder) – Amy Mulholland (Subiaco) – Kobi Nichols (Claremont) – Megan Norbury (West Perth)

EMG: Krystal Carter (Peel Thunder) – Kahra Sprylan (South Fremantle) – Mikayla Western (Claremont)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments