Powerful inclusions for SANFLW clubs

PORT Adelaide’s inclusion into the AFL Women’s has brought about beefing up the top state league with even more talent, as the Power’s non South Australian contingent was assigned clubs this week.

In an announcement from the South Australian National Football League (SANFL), the eight interstate players who have contracts with Port Adelaide for next season will run out with various SANFL Women’s clubs.

While the previously-aligned players are set to return to their junior clubs, Port Adelaide had a number of players making the trek from Western Australia, Queensland or even basketball and were divided into their respective teams. Central District received the biggest boost with three AFL Women’s players aligned to the club.

Port Adelaide ruck Olivia Levicki will help off-set the loss of Isabelle Starmer to North Adelaide in the role, with Julia Teakle adding firepower down forward to team up with the returning Katelyn Rosenzweig. While Shelby Smith has been an uncompromising hardball winner in the middle, she will gain a like-minded talent in Maria Moloney in there, with the ex-Lion settled into her new state.

South Adelaide managed to scoop up talented North Queensland twins, Laquoiya Cockatoo-Motlap and Litonya Cockatoo-Motlap who can fill roles at respective ends of the ground. The Panthers were the only other team to receive multiple new players, with the remaining three individuals heading to other SANFL Women’s clubs.

West Australian utility Maggie MacLachlan will join 2021 SANFL Women’s premiers Glenelg and help add some strength and experience to the Bays, while fellow West Australian Tessa Doumanis will run out for grand finalists Sturt and join an already exciting forwardline.

A massive signing for wooden spooners West Adelaide is dominant key forward Gemma Houghton, who will join the Bloods alongside former AFL Women’s defender Iilish Ross. Houghton will be that key target inside 50 the Westies struggled with in 2022, as the side also welcomes back potential top AFL Women’s draftee Lauren Young from an anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) injury.

All the other players from both Port Adelaide and Adelaide will return to their respective clubs, with a number of players coming back after long layoffs. These include Brittany Perry (North Adelaide), Hannah Dunn (Norwood), Ebony O’Dea (Norwood) and Indy Tahau (South Adelaide). From the Crows, Hannah Button will suit up for West Adelaide again, while Amber Ward will return to reigning premiers North Adelaide.

Just seven players from the Crows’ list will be made available for the 2023 SANFL Women’s season, with many of the experienced heads taking a well-earned break. Aside from Button and Ward, first-year players Brooke Tonon (Glenelg), Jess Waterhouse (South Adelaide), Kiera Mueller (Sturt) and Keeley Kustermann (West Adelaide) will all be made available, as will Jasmine Simmons (Woodville-West Torrens).

A much higher contingent of Port Adelaide players will be available for the SANFL Women’s, with the reigning premiers keen to welcome back Hannah Ewings and Amelie Borg to the fold. Norwood young duo Jade Halfpenny and Sachi Syme will step back into Redlegs colours, with Ella Boag and Sarah Goodwin returning to the yellow and black of Glenelg. Cheyenne Hammond (South Adelaide), Lily Johnson (West Adelaide), Alex Ballard (Sturt) and Abbey Dowrick (Woodville-West Torrens) complete the entire available list.

Though not likely to be available for the full year, the players will be a welcome boost when released by their respective clubs, with availability to depend on AFL Women’s club commitments and injury.

The 2023 SANFL Women’s fixture is set to be released in the next week, prior to Christmas.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments