2023 WAFLW Team of the Week: Round 12

A HALF dozen players from South Fremantle headline the Round 12 WAFL Women’s Team of the Week, with the four winners making up 18 of the 24 players in the side.

While the Bulldogs had six, Claremont (five), Swan Districts (four) and East Fremantle (three) were not far behind. Three of the four losing sides recorded two players apiece, while East Perth was the sole team without a representative.

The Round 12 captain is the youngest yet this season with double bottom-ager Evie Cowcher earning the nod after a mammoth 30 disposals and 12 marks during Peel Thunder’s loss to the Bulldogs. She makes the team alongside fellow State Academy member Kaitlyn Srhoj, while the vice-captain was the opposing side’s skipper in Lauren Vecchio.

The midfielder racked up 29 disposals, three marks three inside 50s and laid seven tackles as South Fremantle recorded a 68-point victory. Among the red and white inclusions were 16-year-old debutant Renee Morgan who provided plenty of run and carry, and State Academy members, Molly O’Hehir and Noa McNaughton. Ruck Ariana Hetherington made the team again, as did forward Trinity Brown.

A pair of Swans hold down the key position spots inside 50, with Taylah Edwards booting a round-high five goals in the absence of leading goalkicker teammate Courtney Zappara. She teamed up well with Cassie McWilliam who kicked two and looked dangerous. Midfielder Ruby Mahony continued her great 2023 season form, while Hope Ugle-Hayward slotted onto the bench.

Claremont had five players in the team after its tight win against Subiaco. Defenders Claire Ortlepp and Juliet Kelly were named in defence and Ella Slocombe in attack, while midfielder Matilda Sergeant was also selected in the squad. Winger turned makeshift ruck, Kobi Nichols was named on the former for this team, acting as a fourth midfielder and stepping up for her side.

In the East Fremantle and West Perth game, five players earned spots in our Team of the Week after an even spread across the board. Smooth-moving half-back Zippy Fish was sensational, with Sharks skipper Ashleigh Gomes making it again. After four goals for her team before coming off sore, Chloe Reilly was named in the forward pocket. Falcons’ duo Jessica Roper and Taylor Ferguson were named in the back pocket and wing respectively.

Rounding out the side was a couple of Lions in Subiaco onballer Eva Popovsky and winger Grace Hahnel. Defender/midfielder Olivia Crane just missed out and was named as an emergency, as was Claremont midfielder Jayme Harken and East Perth defender Mel Hardy.


B: Jess Roper (West Perth) – Claire Ortlepp (Claremont) – Juliet Kelly (Claremont)
HB: Renee Morgan (South Fremantle) – Evie Cowcher (Peel Thunder) (c) – Zippy Fish (East Fremantle)
C: Ash Gomes (East Fremantle) – Ruby Mahony (Swan Districts) – Kobi Nichols (Claremont)
HF: Ella Slocombe (Claremont) – Cassie McWilliam (Swan Districts) – Molly O’Hehir (South Fremantle)
F: Noa McNaughton (South Fremantle) – Taylah Edwards (Swan Districts) – Chloe Reilly (East Fremantle)
R: Ariana Hetherington (South Fremantle) – Eva Popovsky (Subiaco) – Lauren Vecchio (South Fremantle) (vc)
INT: Trinity Brown (South Fremantle) – Taylor Ferguson (West Perth) – Grace Hahnel (Subiaco) – Matilda Sergeant (Claremont) – Kaitlyn Srhoj (Peel Thunder) – Hope Ugle-Hayward (Swan Districts)

EMG: Olivia Crane (Subiaco) – Mel Hardy (East Perth) – Jayme Harken (Claremont)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments