Harris hailed AFLW U18s best as AA team announced

HAVANA Harris has scooped up more silverware for her trophy cabinet after winning the 2023 AFL Women’s Under 18s Most Valuable Player Award. Harris earned Queensland’s MVP award at the conclusion of the Maroons’ carnival, but was honoured with the overall MVP, as well as a place in the All-Australian team.

Harris polled 18 votes in the count following a carnival that saw her average 18.3 disposals, three marks and 17 hitouts, finishing just ahead of reigning MVP Shineah Goody. The South Australian midfielder polled 15 votes in the count, one clear of South Australian forward Lauren Young, and Vic Country duo, Ash Centra and Sara Howley.

Harris becomes the third consecutive bottom-age player to win the carnival MVP after Goody last year, and Western Australia’s Ella Roberts in 2021. The growing talent within the female footballing landscape was on display with a whopping 12 underage players named in the All-Australian team.

South Australian skipper Piper Window also captains the hypothetical team, and is one of eight Croweaters in the side, more than any other state. Queensland and Western Australia both recorded four players in the 23-strong squad, while Vic Metro and Vic Country had three apiece. Allies’ MVP Marnie Robinson was the sole representative from her team.

The All-Australian team features three 2007-born players including Queensland duo Ava Usher and Dekota Baron, and West Australian Evie Cowcher. The AFLW Academy produced eight players in this year’s All-Australian team, with Goody, Young, Window and Robinson joined by Elaine Grigg, Kaitlyn Srhoj, Mikayla Williamson and Laura Stone.

Vic Metro MVP Kayley Kavanagh was named on the bench, with other MVPs Cowcher (Western Australia) and Robinson (Allies) the back pockets, Harris in the ruck and South Australia’s India Rasheed named at half-forward. Her coach Jason Rivett – who led the Croweaters to an undefeated carnival – was named coach of the side.

Completing the All-Australian team on-field are a number of star bottom-agers including Zippy Fish, Emma McDonald and Poppy Scholz, as well as top-age defender Kiara Bischa. West Australian bottom-ager Molly O’Hehir was named on the bench, as was South Australian duo, Brooke Boileau and Jemma Charity.


B: Marnie Robinson (Allies) – Kiara Bischa (Queensland) – Evie Cowcher (Western Australia)
HB: Laura Stone (Vic Metro) – Poppy Scholz (South Australia) – Zippy Fish (Western Australia)
C: Kaitlyn Srhoj (Western Australia) – Shineah Goody (South Australia) – Sara Howley (Vic Country)
HF: Ash Centra (Vic Country) – Dekota Baron (Queensland) – India Rasheed (South Australia)
F: Emma McDonald (Vic Metro) – Lauren Young (South Australia) – Elaine Grigg (South Australia)
R: Havana Harris (Queensland) – Piper Window (South Australia) (c) – Ava Usher (Queensland)
INT: Brooke Boileau (South Australia) – Kayley Kavanagh (Vic Metro) – Molly O’Hehir (Western Australia) – Jemma Charity (South Australia) – Mikayla Williamson (Vic Country)

Coach: Jason Rivett (South Australia)

AFLW U18s Championships MVP: Havana Harris (Queensland)

State-by-State MVPS:

Allies: Marnie Robinson
Queensland: Havana Harris
South Australia: India Rasheed
Vic Country: Ash Centra
Vic Metro: Kayley Kavanagh
Western Australia: Evie Cowcher

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments