2023 Coates Talent League POTW: Round 17

GWV Rebels forward Jonty Faull is our Coates Talent League Player of the Week for Round 17 after booting four goals in his side’s thumping win over Western on Friday night. The mobile bottom-aged tall continued his promising form with 17 disposals, six marks, and eight scoring shots at Mars Stadium.

Faull has hit his stride over the last month, averaging 15 disposals and 6.8 marks per his past four games to go with a total of 11 goals. Eight of them have come in the last fortnight, with the spring-heeled 194cm talent taking his season tally to 15 in 10 appearances.

The 2024-eligible draft prospect also recently represented Vic Country’s Futures side and looms as one to watch. Though, he and his Rebels teammates have plenty to deal with before then, starting with a Wildcard Round matchup against the Murray Bushrangers in Ballarat.

Faull’s nomination saw him become the second Rebel to earn Player of the Week honours in as many weeks, and the third this season. He is the fifth bottom-ager to have done so, and the seventh from a full-time Country program.

Teammate George Stevens again went incredibly close to the nod having racked up a game-high 32 disposals alongside Harry Lawson, while another 2024-eligible draft prospect in Sam Lalor helped set the tone with 30 touches, seven tackles and a goal.

Around the grounds, Tasmanian pair Arie Schoenmaker (32 disposals, nine marks, 14 rebound 50s) and James Leake (five goals) were difficult to look past as the Devils secured this year’s minor premiership. Dandenong co-captain Harry DeMattia was also prolific across each line with 30 touches.

There was also star power aplenty in the Sandringham-Oakleigh clash. Charger Harvey Thomas was terrific with four goals from 21 touches, as bottom-aged midfielders Levi Ashcroft, Jagga Smith, and Finn O’Sullivan looked to steal the show in an entertaining contest.

Elsewhere, Round 15 nominee Zane Duursma had another day out with 19 disposals, 10 marks and four goals in Gippsland’s win over Eastern. The athletic forward is now in the box seat to take out this year’s RMC Medal after Tasmania’s Colby McKercher sat out Round 17 with injury.


Round 1: Indhi Kirk (Swans Academy)
Round 2: Tom Anastasopoulos (Geelong Falcons)
Round 3: Nick Watson (Eastern Ranges)
Round 4: Joel Freijah (GWV Rebels)
Round 5: N/A
Round 6: Jed Walter (Suns Academy)
Round 7: Colby McKercher (Tasmania Devils)
Round 8: Zak Johnson (Northern Knights)
Round 9: Darcy Wilson (Murray Bushrangers)
Round 10: N/A
Round 11: Nate Caddy (Northern Knights)
Round 12: Murphy Reid (Sandringham Dragons)
Round 13: Cooper Hynes (Dandenong Stingrays)
Round 14: Christian Moraes (Eastern Ranges)
Round 15: Zane Duursma (Gippsland Power)
Round 16: Lachlan Charleson (GWV Rebels)
Round 17: JONTY FAULL (GWV Rebels)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments