South Aussies sweep Vics to secure final berth

SOUTH AUSTRALIA has secured its spot in the 2022/23 Marsh One-Day Cup final, after thrashing Victoria by eight wickets in what was essentially a semi-final yesterday. Having sent the Vics in to bat at Adelaide Oval, the Redbacks put on a clinical bowling performance and then had little trouble surpassing the visitors’ miserly total of 136.

Now leapfrogging Victoria into second spot, the Redbacks will face the undefeated Western Australia in this season’s final on March 8. Nathan McAndrew earned player of the match honours for his 3-22 from nine overs, leading a six-man bowling unit which all featured in the wicket column.

Only James Seymour fired with the bat for Victoria, notching up 51 from 75 balls before being bowled by Spencer Johnson. Conversely, Henry Hunt (63) and Jake Carder (49) combined for a 116-run opening stand before both were removed by spinner Ruwantha Kellapotha (2-43).

That left Daniel Drew (19) and Nathan McSweeney (1) to hit the winning runs, with both batters remaining unbeaten as their Redbacks completed the chase after just 26 overs. Things will not be as straightforward against Western Australia, though, who recently regained Mitch Marsh and Ashton Agar.

Around the grounds, the Warriors completed an undefeated regular season after downing Tasmania by six wickets via the Duckworth-Lewis-Stern (DLS) method. The Tigers posted 6-285 after their 48.4 overs, with Caleb Jewell (104) spearheading the effort.

In a roaringly successful reply, WA lost four wickets but rollicked past the DLS par as player of the match Josh Philippe whacked 85 off 48 in a century opening stand with D’Arcy Short (49), before Josh Inglis (41* off 18) steadied a wobble of 3-1 which almost saw the Warriors come unstuck.

Queensland finished its season on a high in another dramatic match, defeating New South Wales at the Gabba. Debutant Josh Brown was forced to see out the last three deliveries after fellow first-gamer Steve McGiffin (3-55) was injured in the final over, and held his nerve as the Blues fell three runs short.

The Bulls won the toss and batted, peeling off 272 before being bowled out with one ball left in the innings. New South Wales hardly looked like matching the required run rate throughout its innings, but a late flourish from Ben Dwarshuis (44 off 20) gave the Blues a sniff.

It proved too little, too late in the end, as Queensland jumped to fourth in the final standings, leaving New South Wales on two wins in fifth, equal with Tasmania.


RESULT: South Australia (2-137) def. Victoria (136) by 8 wickets.
POTM: Nathan McAndrew (South Australia)
TOSS: South Australia won the toss and elected to bowl.

1st Innings: Victoria 136 (42.3)
James Seymour 51 (75), Marcus Harris 19 (38), Tom Rogers 14 (17)
Nathan McAndrew 3-22 (9), Spencer Johnson 2-41 (9.3), Nathan McSweeney 1-11 (5)

2nd Innings: South Australia 2-137 (26.0)
Henry Hunt 63 (70), Jake Carder 49 (61), Daniel Drew 19* (23)
Ruwantha Kellapotha 2-43 (7), Jack Prestwidge 0-11 (3), Xavier Crone 0-15 (3)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments