Preview | Australia A tour of New Zealand

AUSTRALIA A will begin its first ever tour of New Zealand tomorrow, as the Trans-Tasman rivals lock horns in the first of two four-day first class matches.

The series acts as a warm-up for some of Australia’s Ashes hopefuls, with the South Island scene of Lincoln set to replicate English conditions. The heavy seaming and swinging Dukes balls will also be used.

Before the two sides kick off their bilateral battle at Bert Sutcliffe Oval tomorrow morning, we run you through all you need to know about the series – from fixtures, to squads, and how to watch.


WHO: Australia A vs. New Zealand A
WHEN: April 1-4 & April 8-11, play starts 10:30am local (8:30am AEDT)
WHERE: Bert Sutcliffe Oval, Lincoln University
HOW TO WATCH: via NZ Cricket website, or follow along on CA website


Australia A: Wes Agar, Xavier Bartlett, Jordan Buckingham, Aaron Hardie (c), Caleb Jewell, Spencer Johnson, Campbell Kellaway, Nathan McSweeney (c), Mitch Perry, Jimmy Pierson, Matthew Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Tim Ward, Teague Wyllie

New Zealand A: Tom Bruce (c), Adi Ashok, Doug Bracewell, Henry Cooper, Jacob Duffy*, Dean Foxcroft, Cam Fletcher, Mitch Hay, Scott Kuggeleijn**, Cole McConchie, Robbie O’Donnell, Will O’Rourke, Ajaz Patel, Brett Randell, Sean Solia

* – available for game one only
** – available for game two only

The tourists have selected a strong lineup which boasts both experience and youth. Though, the former factor has been somewhat weakened with Peter Handscomb (country contract) and Joel Paris (lower back) both pulled out of the squad.

Their absences provide opportunities for others though, with Caleb Jewell taking Handscomb’s place while South Australia Redbacks seamer Jordan Buckingham continues his steep rise with a seat on the plane.

Australia boats three internationals, albeit across varying formats, with Test hopefuls Matt Renshaw and Mitch Swepson set to turn out along with Wes Agar. New Zealand has double the amount of capped players, including captain Tom Bruce, Doug Bracewell, and Ajaz Patel – who has taken 10 wickets in a Test innings.

Nathan McSweeney and Aaron Hardie will rotate as captains for the Aussies, with the former taking charge in game one and the latter for game two. Both leaders are among the total of nine players under 26 years of age for the visitors.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments