2022 NAB League Boys Team of the Week: Round 4

A SANDRINGHAM Dragons goal fest sees four players from the region feature in our NAB League Team of the Week for Round 4. Fellow victors Oakleigh and Murray boast three members apiece, and 12 clubs are represented overall despite nine games making for a selection squeeze. Check out who made the full 24-man squad, and three emergency spots below.


Metro players have gone big in 2022, and the latest to do so was Sandringham Dragons forward Harry Sheezel. The AFL Academy member was on fire in Round 4, booting six goals from 28 disposals in a true breakout performance. His feats will likely go a long way to cementing his top 10 credentials, with his ability to kick goals from all angles and potentially roll up to midfield making him an exciting talent with true starpower. He now has 13 majors to his name this season, with 10 coming in the last fortnight.


Ironically enough, three of the starting defenders in this week’s team played in losses, but managed to hold firm with plenty of play coming their way. Massimo D’Ambrosio (Western Jets) and Lachlan Cowan (Tasmania Devils) have proven mainstays, and did just about everything as captains of their respective sides. Dandenong tall Henry Hustwaite also features despite the Stingrays’ loss, showing great composure and decision making on the last line.

In the same game as Hustwaite, Gippsland Power rebounder Jonti Schuback again brought his dash to fore, as did Murray Bushrangers over-ager Tyler Norton in his side’s big win over Northern. Teammate and mobile tall Ryan Eyers is a repeat feature, rounding out a back six which combines marking power and a strong selection of running rebounders.


This week’s centreline is all class, laying claim to a trio of AFL Academy members. In the heart of midfield is Sandringham Dragons skipper Will Ashcroft, who just about selects himself these days along with Elijah Tsatas. Rounding out the trio is Lions Academy standout Jaspa Fletcher, who best navigated the greasy conditions in a tense breakthrough win.

Another Queensland academy member features among the followers, with Gold Coast’s Jared Eckersley proving all class in another thrilling victory for the Sunshine State. Country over-agers fill out the remaining spots, with the aptly named Toby Murray from Murray earning a starting ruck role, while GWV’s Charlie Molan was the best Rebel in a win over the Swans Academy.


There are plenty of goals among an attack which brings a real Metro feel this week. Sandringham trio Charlie Clarke (seven goals), Sheezel (six), and Hugo Hall-Kahan (four) were impossible to overlook for starting spots, while Oakleigh Chargers pair Matthew Jefferson (15 marks, three goals) and Ingo Dammersmith (five goals) also enjoyed a day out against Calder. Rounding out the six is another Sun, Cody Harrington, after the crafty small snared three majors from five scoring shots.


With nine games played in Round 4, narrowing down to six interchange members was tough as ever. Leading the line as sole representatives for their respective regions are Bendigo captain Jason Gillbee and Geelong ruck Olivier Northam, while midfielders Taj Campbell-Farrell, Mitchell Moschetti, and Bailey Tome, and GWV forward Aaron Cadman make it two members for their clubs.

A couple of goalsneaks earn special mentions in the emergency list, after Jacob Konstanty and Beau Tedcastle both snared four majors from 10 touches in wins for their sides. Elsewhere, Michael Ktona was just squeezed out but continues to piece together a solid season for Calder.


B: Tyler Norton (MB), Ryan Eyers (MB), Massimo D’Ambrosio (WJ)
HB: Lachlan Cowan (TD), Henry Hustwaite (DS), Jonti Schuback (GP)
C: Elijah Tsatas (OC), Will Ashcroft (SD), Jaspa Fletcher (BL)
HF: Harry Sheezel (SD), Matthew Jefferson (OC), Cody Harrington (GC)
F: Charlie Clarke (SD), Ingo Dammersmith (OC), Hugo Hall-Kahan (SD)
FOL: Toby Murray (MB), Charlie Molan (GWV), Jared Eckersley (GC)

INT: Aaron Cadman (GWV), Taj Campbell-Farrell (DS), Jason Gillbee (BP), Mitchell Moschetti (GP), Olivier Northam (GF), Bailey Tome (BL)

EMG: Jacob Konstanty (GP), Beau Tedcastle (GWV), Michael Ktona (CC)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments