2023 SANFLW Team of the Week: Round 12

THREE of the top four sides who all recorded wins in Round 12 of the SANFL Women’s competition have stacked up in our Rookie Me Central Team of the Week. Central District led all-comers with five representatives ahead of Sturt and South Adelaide (four apiece), while Woodville-West Torrens and Norwood had three each, and the other three losing sides combined for the last five players.

Though they only had the two representatives, the North Adelaide Roosters had a couple of huge individual performances, with ruck Isabelle Starmer earning the captaincy. In her final game of the season, Starmer accumulated 24 disposals, four marks, seven clearances, 40 hitouts and laid nine tackles to be named captain of the hypothetical side. Her actual co-captain Kristi Harvey was a rock in defence herself with 28 disposals, six marks and 10 rebound 50s.

The vice-captain this week is Central District leading goalkicker Katelyn Rosenzweig, who slotted another three goals to confirm her award. She was named at full-forward next to fellow Bulldog Chantel Reynolds, while teammate Lauren Breguet slotted in at half-forward. Madison Lane (back pocket) and Caitlen Teague (interchange) rounded out the five Dogs in the side.

Sturt’s quartet of representatives included midfielder Kate Harris and forward Ally Ladas in the starting team, while ruck Alex Pearce and midfielder/forward India Rasheed were named on the bench. The sole Tiger to squeeze into the team was tall defender Poppy Scholz.

South Adelaide secured the minor premiership with a win over Norwood and had four representatives in this week’s side. Defender Jaslynne Smith made it in again, as did midfielders Senna Gulden and Caitlin Couch, while ruck Soriah Moon made it onto the bench in a tall interchange. The Redlegs trio of Molly Brooksby, Tesharna Maher and Steph Simmonds impressed enough from the game to also make it into the Round 12 side.

Woodville-West Torrens Eagles finished their season on a high with a win over North Adelaide. Skipper Annie Falkenberg and youngsters Chantelle Mitchell and Shineah Goody qualified for the final Team of the Week. Wrapping up the last two players in the side are West Adelaide duo Lauren Young and Zoe Venning who completed wonderfully consistent seasons.

The three chosen emergencies for Round 12 were Central District’s Elaine Grigg, Sturt’s Isobel Kuiper and Norwood’s Lana Schwerdt.


B: Jaslynne Smith (South Adelaide) – Kristi Harvey (North Adelaide) – Madison Lane (Central District)
HB: Molly Brooksby (Norwood) – Poppy Scholz (Glenelg) – Annie Falkenberg (WWT Eagles)
C: Tesharna Maher (Norwood) – Senna Gulden (South Adelaide) – Elise Barwick (South Adelaide)
HF: Lauren Breguet (Central District) – Lauren Young (West Adelaide) – Chantelle Mitchell (WWT Eagles)
F: Ally Ladas (Sturt) – Katelyn Rosenzweig (Central District) (vc) – Chantel Reynolds (Central District)
R: Isabelle Starmer (North Adelaide) (c) – Kate Harris (Sturt) – Zoe Venning (West Adelaide)
INT: Shineah Goody (WWT Eagles) – Soriah Moon (South Adelaide) – Alex Pearce (Sturt) – India Rasheed (Sturt) – Stephanie Simmonds (Norwood) – Caitlen Teague (Central District)

EMG: Elaine Grigg (Central District) – Isobel Kuiper (Sturt) – Lana Schwerdt (Norwood)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments