2024 WAFLW Team of the Week: Round 1

SUBIACO dominated this week’s Rookie Me Central WAFL Women’s Team of the Week following its 95-point belting of East Perth. The Royals were the only side without a representative, as South Fremantle (four players) and Peel Thunder (two) were the slight differences with the remaining four teams recording three players apiece.

It is no surprise they key forward Olivia Wolmarans skippers the team this week after a massive six-goal haul against the Royals. The Subiaco forward was the standout player across the competition, while her deputy for Round 1 is inaugural Vecchio-Smith Medalist Poppy Stockwell (South Fremantle).

The Lions had no shortage of representatives in the side for Round 1, with Airlie Runnalls (wing) joining Maggie MacLachlan and Madison Dodd who were both named on respective back flanks. Tess Lyons was the starting ruck in the side, while another Lion with AFLW experience, Amy Mulholland was named on the bench.

Along with Stockwell, the Bulldogs had a further three representatives to be the second highest represented side despite a narrow loss to East Fremantle. Top-age AFLW Draft prospects Molly O’Hehir and Noa McNaughton both stood out first up, as did midfielder Liusaidh Gilchrist.

Reigning league best and fairest winner Jayme Harken started where she finished off, named in the centre for this hypothetical team, while teammates Emily Bonser (half-forward) and Anjelique Raison (interchange) also made the side.

The Tigers’ opponents Swan Districts also recorded three representatives, albeit with duo Naomi Baker and Carys D’Addario on the bench. Defender Eliza Gelmi made it onto the field into her ever reliable back pocket.

Picking up the win over the Bulldogs, East Fremantle defender Leanne Gubbins had some huge moments and made the back six, while regular Team of the Week inclusions, Zippy Fish and Ashleigh Gomes also made the team.

Other winners West Perth came from behind to post a win over Peel Thunder, with three and two players from those sides. The Falcons had winger Taylor Ferguson and experienced duo Katherine Bennett and Brooke Hongell make the squad too. Thunder defenders Evie Cowcher and Ebony Dowson complete the squad.

While many players could be considered unlucky, the three emergencies chosen for Round 1 were Claremont’s Eva O’Donnell, Subiaco’s Eva Popovsky and West Perth debutant Mia Russo.


B: Ebony Dowson (Peel Thunder) – Leanne Gubbins (East Fremantle) – Eliza Gelmi (Swan Districts)
HB: Maggie McLachlan (Subiaco) – Evie Cowcher (Peel Thunder) – Madison Dodd (Subiaco)
C: Taylor Ferguson (West Perth) – Jayme Harken (Claremont) – Airlie Runnalls (Subiaco)
HF: Katherine Bennett (West Perth) – Poppy Stockwell (South Fremantle) (vc) – Emily Bonser (Claremont)
F: Noa McNaughton (South Fremantle) – Olivia Wolmarans (Subiaco) (c) – Brooke Hongell (West Perth)
R: Tess Lyons (Subiaco) – Molly O’Hehir (South Fremantle) – Zippy Fish (East Fremantle)
INT: Naomi Baker (Swan Districts) – Carys D’Addario (Swan Districts) – Liusaidh Gilchrist (South Fremantle) – Ash Gomes (East Fremantle) – Amy Mulholland (Subiaco) – Anjelique Raison (Claremont)

EMG: Eva O’Donnell (Claremont) – Eva Popovsky (Subiaco) – Mia Russo (West Perth)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments