Experience meets emerging stars in Australia A squad

CRICKET Australia yesterday announced the 14-man Australia A squad to tour New Zealand next month. The team will play two four-day matches on the south island in part of the national side’s preparation for what looms as a blockbuster overseas Ashes defence in July-July.

>> SCROLL to see the full squad

Dukes balls will be used in hopes of replicating the notorious seam and swing they produce in English conditions, where Australia has not won a Test series since 2001. Experience meets emerging talent in the squad, which futures a few members of the current Test team.

Fringe talents like Peter Handscomb, Matt Renshaw and Mitch Swepson will hope to establish their spots at the top level, with Handscomb also expected to lead the second string lineup. The Victorian skipper has been a revelation during Australia’s tour of India, having been picked as a subcontinental specialist.

A pair of in-form paceman are likely to excite, namely Victoria’s Mitch Perry and South Australia’s Spencer Johnson. Both have been in scintillating touch on the domestic scene, with Johnson’s star rising across all three formats in season 2022/23.

The duo is part of a largely pace-oriented bowling attack, headlined by the likes of Joel Paris, Wes Agar and Xavier Bartlett. Queensland’s Jimmy Peirson is poised to take the gloves, having also produced another terrific Shield campaign.

The batting order is also set to feature a pair of young guns. Campbell Kellaway is the third Victorian in the squad, and Teague Wyllie has plenty of fans having been labelled the next Ricky Ponting. Fellow West Australian Aaron Hardie, a dangerous allrounder, is another to watch.

With plenty of players pushing for top honours on the international stage, Australia’s final squad for its World Test Championship and Ashes tour of England promises to be highly competitive. Australia A will return the favour for New Zealand later in 2023, set to host the Kiwis for two four-day matches and as many one-dayers in Brisbane.


Wes Agar (South Australia)
Xavier Bartlett (Queensland)
Aaron Hardie (Western Australia)
Peter Handscomb (Victoria)
Spencer Johnson (South Australia)
Campbell Kellaway (Victoria)
Nathan McSweeney (South Australia)
Joel Paris (Western Australia)
Mitch Perry (Victoria)
Jimmy Pierson (Queensland)
Matthew Renshaw (Queensland)
Mitchell Swepson (Queensland)
Tim Ward (Tasmania)
Teague Wyllie (Western Australia)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments