Status quo maintained as Aussies prepare for South Africa

AUSTRALIA has revealed its squad for the upcoming series with South Africa, and after a successful tour to India the Australians have stuck to a winning formula.

There have been no changes to the squad from the one that has just returned from India, with the same 15 players set to front up again. Grace Harris will again play only the T20s, while Alana King will again only be available for the One Day Internationals.

The squad that has been announced is only for the limited overs portions of the series, with the squad for the Test Match set to be announced following the first ODI on February 3.

Meanwhile selectors have also announced a squad for the Governor-General’s XI, which is set to face the touring South Africans in a warm up match on January 24.

Led by Victorian Sophie Molineux, some of the faces named in the squad include young Victorian quicks Tess Flintoff and Milly Illingworth, and break out West Australian Chloe Ainsworth.

Private Kayla Stuchbree is also in the squad representing the Australian Defence Force as part of a longstanding association that gives an opportunity for eligible serve personnel to participate in the match. Private Stuchbree is a medium pace bowler and idle order batter.



Alyssa Healy (c)

Darcie Brown

Heather Graham

Ashleigh Gardner

Kim Garth

Grace Harris*

Jess Jonassen

Alana King**

Phoebe Litchfield

Tahlia McGrath

Beth Mooney

Ellyse Perry

Megan Schutt

Annabel Sutherland

Georgia Wareham

*T20s only

**ODIs only

Governor-General’s XI

Sophie Molineux (c)

Chloe Ainsworth

Maddy Darke

Amy Edgar

Tess Flintoff

Sianna Ginger

Milly Illingworth

Charli Knott

Courtney Sippel

Amy Smith

Georgia Voll

Private Kayla Stuchbree

Australia vs South Africa Fixtures

January 27 – T20 1- Manuka Oval – 10.45am

January 28 – T20 2- Manuka Oval – 10.45am

January 30 – T20 3 – Blundstone Arena – 7.05pm

February 3 – ODI 1 – Adelaide Oval – 2.10pm

February 7 – ODI 2 North Sydney Oval – 2.40pm

February 10 – ODI 2 North Sydney Oval – 2.40pm

February 15-18 – Test Match – WACA Ground – 11.00am

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments