Magnificent Molineux named in Aussie test squad

VICTORIAN captain Sophie Molineux is on the verge of fully completing her journey back to cricket after being named in the Australian test squad for this week’s test against South Africa.

The moment has been long in the making for Molineux, who made a gradual return to cricket since rupturing her anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) in late 2022.

But since her return to cricket she has been in scintillating form, captaining Victorian to a late season run of form and currently sits on top of the WNCL wickets tally with 17 from only six games.

Cricket Australia head of performance and national selector Shawn Flegler said “it was a nice call to make” to Molineux.

“She was pretty emotional, she’s put a lot of hard work in over the last 12 months but even the previous 12 months as well – she’s missed out on some big tournaments for us. “She has come back and played really well…has probably surprised herself a little bit with how well she’s gone.

“She’s an all-format player, was an all-format player before she got injured and she’s come back in great nick.”

She is the sole inclusion into the Australian team that finished up a limited overs series with the Proteas last night, and is the sole inclusion to the test team that played India in December.

In a continuation of bad luck for Lauren Cheatle, she is one of two omissions from the India series test squad after a skin cancer removal saw her ruled out for just about the rest of the summer. The other omission from that India series squad is Heather Graham.

The sole test match between Australia and South Africa begins on Thursday in Perth.

Test Squads

Australia: Alyssa Healy (c), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham

South Africa: Laura Wolvaardt, Anneke Bosch, Tazmin Brits, Nadine de Klerk, Mieke de Ridder, Ayanda Hlubi, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Masabata Klaas, Suné Luus, Eliz-Mari Marx, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Chloé Tryon, Delmi Tucker

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments