2022 AFL Under 18 All-Australian Team announced

VIC METRO has dominated the 2022 AFL Under 18 All-Australian team which was announced today, with seven representatives from the title-winning state. Headlined by captain and potential number one pick Will Ashcroft, Metro had two more representatives than any other side in the 23-player team. Ashcroft was named captain of the side, having won the Larke Medal to go with his plethora of other awards all throughout the 2022 season.

The Brisbane father-son prospect was joined in the midfield by fellow Most Valuable Players (MVPs) Jhye Clark (Vic Country) and Reuben Ginbey (Western Australia), while the Allies’ MVP Harry Rowston was named at half-forward, and South Australia’s Adam D’Aloia was named on the bench. Completing the midfield are Brisbane Lions father-son prospect Jaspa Fletcher and Dandenong Stingrays running machine Jaxon Binns on the wings, and West Adelaide ruck Harry Barnett.

There were just two bottom-agers named in the squad, with Harley Reid (half-back) and Jed Walter (centre half-forward) having sensational carnivals for Vic Country and the Allies respectively. The attack also featured Vic Country spearhead and potential top five pick Aaron Cadman, as well as a trio of highly touted Metro players in Harry Sheezel, Cameron Mackenzie and Matthew Jefferson.

Up the other end of the field, Metro was again well represented with Oakleigh Chargers’ Josh Weddle and Eastern Ranges’ Lewis Hayes providing two of a three-prong tall defence with Western Australia’s Jedd Busslinger. The Black Ducks’ key defender was named there despite only playing two games for the championships, with teammate Jed Hagan also in he back six. Morrish Medallist Lachlan Cowan completed the defence.

While D’Aloia was awarded the MVP for his state, he was joined on the bench by some other outstanding contributors in Oliver Hollands and Olli Hotton. West Australia talent Darcy Jones and Adelaide father-son prospect Max Michalanney also made the 23-player squad. Vic Metro mentor Jason Davenport was named coach of the team after his successful campaign.


B: Jed Hagan (Western Australia) – Josh Weddle (Vic Metro) – Lewis Hayes (Vic Metro)
HB: Lachlan Cowan (Allies) – Jedd Busslinger (Western Australia) – Harley Reid (Vic Country)
C: Jaspa Fletcher (Allies) – Will Ashcroft (Vic Metro – c) – Jaxon Binns (Vic Country)
HF: Harry Rowston (Allies) – Jed Walter (Allies) – Cameron Mackenzie (Vic Metro)
F: Harry Sheezel (Vic Metro) – Aaron Cadman (Vic Country) – Matthew Jefferson (Vic Metro)
R: Harry Barnett (South Australia) – Reuben Ginbey (Western Australia) – Jhye Clark (Vic Country)
INT: Adam D’Aloia (South Australia) – Oliver Hollands (Vic Country) – Olli Hotton (Vic Metro) – Darcy Jones (Western Australia) – Max Michalanney (South Australia)

Coach: Jason Davenport (Vic Metro)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments