2022 AFLW Draft Combine invites announced

MORE than 100 AFL Women’s Draft hopefuls have earned the chance to impress at a 2km time trial as part of the 2022 AFLW Draft Combine. The combine, which has had to be reduced to just the sole time trial rather than a multitude of athletic tests as per the norm, will feature 106 players from across the country as the elite women’s Australian rules football league ventures into an 18-team competition for the first time.

The NAB League has 59 representatives called up for testing, which also includes four NSW-ACT players, and an additional Northern Territory talent. The NSW-ACT portion helped Murray Bushrangers record the equal most players invited with nine, the same amount as the Dandenong Stingrays. Each NAB League Girls club is represented, with Sandringham Dragons and Geelong Falcons (both six) the next best. Premiers Western Jets have the four, the same amount as Bendigo Pioneers and Tasmania Devils.

Across the nation, Claremont leads all-comers outside of the NAB League Girls with four representatives including three mature-age players, whilst reigning back-to-back premiers Peel Thunder have three. Norwood (three) tops the list in the SANFL Women’s, with Glenelg and North Adelaide having two. Unlike the WAFLW, the SANFLW only has teenagers included, with Port Adelaide predicted to pre-list a number of mature-age talents.

In the NSW-ACT, Southern Power has three representatives to be the top of AFL Sydney, whilst Ainslie’s two players earned the Tricolours the crown in the AFL Canberra. Meanwhile in Queensland, Aspley, Bond University and Southport all have a state-high two players earning spots in the AFLW Draft Combine.

More information about the AFLW Draft Combine and draft itself will come to hand in the next few weeks.


Bendigo Pioneers [4]: Octavia Di Donato, Emily Everist, Drew Ryan, Tegan Williams
Calder Cannons [3]: Abbey McDonald, Reese Sutton, Heidi Woodley
Dandenong Stingrays [9]: Charlotte Blair, Amber Clarke, Felicity Crank, Mackenzie Eardley, Taylah Gatt, Sarah Hosking, Olivia Robinson, Emily Shepherd, Brooke Smith
Eastern Ranges [3]: Mia Austin, Mia Busch, Charli Granville
Geelong Falcons [6]: Elizabeth Dowling, Analea McKee, Grace Purcell, Charlotte Simpson, Mia Van Dyke, Ashleigh Van Loon
Gippsland Power [1]: Yasmin Duursma
GWV Rebels [4]: Kalani Scoullar, Paige Scott, Jamie-Lee Speakman, Molly Walton
Murray Bushrangers [9]: Olivia Cicolini (NSW-ACT), Zarlie Goldsworthy (NSW/ACT), Madison Gray, Tayissa Gray, Zara Hamilton (NSW/ACT), Grace Hay, India Lehman (NSW/ACT), Cassidy Mailer, Keeley Skepper
Northern Knights [3]: Lulu Beatty, Brooke Plummer, Rylie Wilcox
Oakleigh Chargers [3]: Jasmine Fleming, Amelie Smith, Charlotte Taylor
Sandringham Dragons [6]: J’Noemi Anderson (NT), Keely Coyne, Bridie Hipwell, Sofia Hurley, Pia Staltari, Maddi Torpey
Tasmania Devils [4]: Candice Belbin, Madison Brazendale, Meghan Gaffney, Claire Ransom
Western Jets [4]: Charlotte Baskaran, Laura Elliott, Montana Ham, Krystal Russell

NSW/ACT: (9)

Ainslie: Eleanor Bishop, Tess Cattle
Belconnen: Teagan Germech
Inner West Magpies: Freya Taylor
Newcastle City: Asha Turner Funk
Queanbeyan: Cynthia Hamilton
Southern Power: Emily Eaves, Dakota Mason, Jemima Wrigley

VFLW: (8)

Casey Demons: Tahlia Fellows
Collingwood: Nyakoat Dojiok
Essendon: Amelia Radford
Hawthorn: Jenna Richardson
Western Bulldogs: Lucy Schneider, Eliza Vale
Williamstown: Sophia McCarthy, Cassie McWilliams (NT)

SANFLW: (11)

Glenelg: Ella Boag, Sarah Goodwin
North Adelaide: Amelie Borg, Hannah Ewings
Norwood: Grace Mulvahil (NT), Lana Schwerdt, Sachi Syme
South Adelaide: Jemma Ellis
Sturt: Kiera Mueller
West Adelaide: Keeley Kustermann
WWT Eagles: Ella Little

WAFLW: (9)

Claremont: Emily Elkington, Sasha Goranova, Madeleine Scanlon, Ella Smith
Peel Thunder: Jaide Britton, Bella Mann, Ella Roberts
South Fremantle: Lauren Wakfer
Swan Districts: Abbygail Bushby

QAFLW: (10)

Aspley (BL): Charlotte Mullins, Ella Smith
Bond University (GC): Imogen Evans, Jasmyn Smith
Maroochydore (BL): Kiara Hillier
Southport (GC): Fleur Davies, Alana Gee
University of Queensland (BL): Kadie Fletcher, Ava Seton
Toowoomba (BL): Christine Watson

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments